We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise for such a 1950s looking cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flats Cafe

The Flats Cafe
34500 N Hwy 1, Albion, Albion, CA 95410
707-937-0659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Albion
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
los
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a surprise for such a 1950s looking cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

So you are in an RV campground looking like you are in an out-building at a campgrounds from 50 years ago. What a shocker to find such excellently prepared food, at least at breakfast time (which is what we had). I had an omelette that was divine, light and fluffy with carefully grilled vegetables within, perfectly formed, with potatoes and a small muffin with a big side of butter and preserves that I believe were homemade. You couldn't do better at a fancy resort at twice the price. Served with plenty of hot coffee, it made for a wonderful and fairly priced meal. Oh, and the view of the Albion Bridge on Highway 1 from ground level adds to the 1950s feel of the cafe. While you are there, walk down to the beach at the ocean front and walk under the bridge to round out your morning. We brought books down to the beach and spent an hour or so there after the wonderful breakfast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were driving the coast on highway 1 and needed a place to each lunch. We got a recommendation from a cook at another restaurant that didn't serve lunch to go to the Flats Cafe. It was a great recommendation! We drove down the narrow road to the campground and parked. The view of the wooden bridge is cool. The cook greeted us and was extremely attentive and happy to see us. I ordered the chicken burger and my wife ordered the pizza. Both were good but the pizza was excellent! It was fun to talk with some campers about fishing and camping. Overall a very good stop. We would highly recommend this stop for lunch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley, California
1 review
“Great Café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful cafe for breakfast or lunch...and their Carrot cake is the best I have EVER had! You don't have to stay at the campground to enjoy a meal here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Top Contributor
795 reviews 795 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
2,072 helpful votes 2,072 helpful votes
“Excellent food! No need to camp here to enjoy it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We wanted to see this RV park, but had no idea we'd also find a great little cafe!

It's clean and fresh inside, with about a dozen or so tables. Our table had a nice view of the bridge. There are some great old photos on the walls that let you see what this area used to look like. There are also some sketches of the proposed new bridge to replace the aging wooden trestle structure.

The staff is very friendly - this seems to be a family run operation. We figured we'd get "average" food, but it was far better than that.

I had the biscuits and gravy. They make their own biscuits from scratch and of course their own gravy. Delicious! My husband had the Reuben and pronounced it one of the best he's ever had. They prepare (brine) their own corned beef right there.

The prices were quite reasonable. The location is great - it's on the east side of Highway 1, right on the river. You get to it via a paved road (maybe the 'old' road?) that is on the north side of the bridge. It is a bit steep, and please give way if you meet a large RV as it is narrow for a big rig.

Next time we're in this area, we'll eat here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good food in a campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The food is really good and the coffee/hot chocolate is hot, fresh and really hit the spot! Surprisingly big menu and attentive service. Don't expect fancy but it is clean and friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flats Cafe also viewed

Albion, Mendocino County
 
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Been to The Flats Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flats Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.