We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Café” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flats Cafe

The Flats Cafe
34500 N Hwy 1, Albion, Albion, CA 95410
707-937-0659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Albion
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Napa Valley, California
1 review
“Great Café”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful cafe for breakfast or lunch...and their Carrot cake is the best I have EVER had! You don't have to stay at the campground to enjoy a meal here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
927 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,340 helpful votes
“Excellent food! No need to camp here to enjoy it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We wanted to see this RV park, but had no idea we'd also find a great little cafe!

It's clean and fresh inside, with about a dozen or so tables. Our table had a nice view of the bridge. There are some great old photos on the walls that let you see what this area used to look like. There are also some sketches of the proposed new bridge to replace the aging wooden trestle structure.

The staff is very friendly - this seems to be a family run operation. We figured we'd get "average" food, but it was far better than that.

I had the biscuits and gravy. They make their own biscuits from scratch and of course their own gravy. Delicious! My husband had the Reuben and pronounced it one of the best he's ever had. They prepare (brine) their own corned beef right there.

The prices were quite reasonable. The location is great - it's on the east side of Highway 1, right on the river. You get to it via a paved road (maybe the 'old' road?) that is on the north side of the bridge. It is a bit steep, and please give way if you meet a large RV as it is narrow for a big rig.

Next time we're in this area, we'll eat here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
391 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Good food in a campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The food is really good and the coffee/hot chocolate is hot, fresh and really hit the spot! Surprisingly big menu and attentive service. Don't expect fancy but it is clean and friendly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great little place for a camp coffee. Don't be afraid to sit down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The place doubles up as a store for the Camp, so it looks a bit odd. Just a few tables and chairs among shelves of grocerie items. But it is very clean.

We had some very good vegetable soups, a veggie sub, and an absolutely amazing prawns with fries. All sizzling fresh too.

I am glad all the other places were closed or else we would have missed this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, easy...but recommend takeout.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Loved the chef, who was single-handedly feeding everyone as well as taking orders. Only drawback was the lack of views and beer. We were surprised to learn upon arrival that Flats Cafe was more of a convenience-store/campground store cafe rather than an actual cafe. That said, we took a delicious pizza back to Fensalden Inn in Albion and it was great!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flats Cafe also viewed

Albion, Mendocino County
 
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Been to The Flats Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flats Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.