We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albion River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albion
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albion River Inn
Save
You added Albion River Inn to your Saves list
3790 N. Highway 1, PO Box 100, Albion, CA 95410   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Albion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We just spent four days in one of the upscale rooms this lovely inn. The sea and coastal view from our private deck was superb, and it appeared that all rooms would have the same view. The room itself was top notch with a wood burning fireplace and a generous supply of wood, often replenished. Front office management and staff were friendly and helpful, and housekeeping well performed.

An excellent complementary full breakfast is served in the on-site restaurant. The only slightly negative note is that you are asked to commit your breakfast time a day ahead which may be convenient for their staff but not so wonderful for the guests.

All in all a fine choice location to enjoy the Mendocino coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    52
    18
    9
    5
See reviews for
15
151
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the ARI several times over the years - most recently in January, 2013. It was my birthday and we were greeted by a small bottle of local wine and a lovely welcome card wishing me a happy birthday - a nice touch! We stayed over Christmas one year, and were welcomed with some divine local chocolates.

We were in Room 12 with a wood burning fireplace and a deck - two essentials for staying at the ARI for us. Our experience with ARI is that the service is top notch, the rooms comfy and clean, and the food is awesome. We were disappointed to find that their restaurant was closed for dinner during our visit.

We love the view, the fire, the solitude of ARI. They offer a generous breakfast which boasts a bakery item and choice of main dishes, along with juice and coffee - not to mention that incredible view!

Perhaps the place does need some TLC to freshen up the wear and tear of use and the abuse from inexperienced fire makers and fire tenders. But for the price, you truly get a great experience with a view that can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We love this place. Very clean and you can't beat the view. The pictures on their website are true. We did not have dinner here this time and we were disappointed we chose some other place. We will not make that mistake again, since we love the meals here. The complimentary breakfast is excellent. My review do not do this place justice, you just need to go there. We will be back! Spring time is best.

Room Tip: We had a room with a room upstairs. I would not stay at these rooms. You can hear everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After a long trip from Oklahoma to Dallas, flight to San Francisco and then an afternoon of driving to the California coast, we happened on a perfect oasis. As we drove closer to the coast the early evening fog was coming in and we happened to see this lovely inn as we turning onto Highway 1. We already new before we reached our private gate to our cottage room that it was going to be a lovely stay because the grounds were covered in beautiful flowers and the young lady checking us in had already made us feel at home. The restaurant ,which is award winning, w as lovely at night with the crisp white table linens and the soft lighting, but most importantly the food was delicious and the service at its best. Everyone seemed to linger and enjoy the beautiful view of the Pacific and the casual, but classy atmosphere.
From the bottle of wine welcoming you in the room, to the oil light on the dresser, to the lantern to take onto the deck-all nice touches. The view of where the Albion River meets the Pacific is lovely. The cows grasing on the hillsides overlooking the Inn, the smell of the flowers everywhere, the sound of the fishing boats heading out to sea were delightful. Did I mention the best part--no tv, why would you want one-their motto is: you are here for relaxation and/or romance. After a lovely night in our little sanctuary, we went back to the restaurant for a lovely full complimentary breakfast. Starting with the fresh muffins on the table when we arrived, the made to order breafast was perfect way to start our day. As we took our last look at our perfect ocean view and took our last of many pictures of the lovely grounds we headed up the coast wondering how we could find anywhere to stay as perfect as the Albion River Inn. We arrived on our daughter's 27th birthday-what a gift!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love Albion River Inn in Mendocino County CA. The Bed and Breakfast is located on a cliff and all rooms open up to this spectacular view of the ocean. At certain times of the year you can sit out of your private porch and watch the whales or dophins swim by. The staff and owners are very gracious and want to help in any way to make sure your stay is wonderful and carefree. The restaurant is fabulous, a wonderful array of choices for your morning breakfast and the dinners are best around!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have a great view. There is no swimming pool...I clicked the wrong thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I will restate what many have before. Great view and restaurant great too. The room was clean enough but beat up and dated looking. We were in room 16 which was large with nice view. The food at dinner and in morning were great. be sure to ask for the wine tatsing coupons too. Well located for going to wineries and Mendocino downtown. Could use updating in rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We loved everything about our stay at the Albion River Inn. With Chelsea's help we had a perfect elopement. We loved our room. It was a large, very private and comfortable room with a great view. It was peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed the wood fireplace - used it every night. The restaurant was fantastic. Every meal we ate there we loved. This may have to become an annual trip for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albion River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion River Inn

Address: 3790 N. Highway 1, PO Box 100, Albion, CA 95410
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Albion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Albion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion River Inn's spectacular ocean front lodging and dining create the ambiance for a romantic and relaxing vacation on the Mendocino Coast. Our well appointed Guest rooms and Cottages feature dramatic ocean views with many amenities for your comfort. Located on the ocean, minutes from the historic village of Mendocino, Anderson Valley Wine Country, golf, tennis, State Parks, and beaches. The acclaimed restaurant and bar are open nightly for dinner. The restaurant lawn terrace is the picture perfect setting for small Weddings and Receptions, while Cooking Classes and Culinary Events make us your ideal destination getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albion River Hotel Albion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albion River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.