We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of C'era Una Volta

C'era Una Volta
1332 Park St on Redwood Square, Alameda, CA 94501
(510) 769-4828
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
C'era Una Volta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 207 Restaurants in Alameda
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alameda Avenue
Transit: C'era Una Volta Italian Restaurant in Alameda, one block from AC Transit Bus lines O, OX, 20, 21, 51A. BART connections available for each bus line. Bus 51A from Berkeley to Alameda via Downtown Oakland. Bus 20 & 21 from Fruitvale BART Station to Downtown Alameda in 10 min.
Belém, Para, Brazil
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Best restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Best restaurant in Alameda, California. If you're lucky enough to know Chef Rudi, you know what I'm talking about. Excellent service, friendly atmosphere and the food... superb!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Maximo offered excellent service, what a pro! Each of our lunches was delicious (penne con pollo, hanger steak, grilled chicken sandwich) and interior decor is nice too. We had 3-course prix fixe "box" lunch for $15. We sat in a booth and everyone knows that dining is better in a booth, haha.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Mushroom Gnocchi stuffed w/ truffle oil was fantastic. Papardelle w/ ragu just as good. Like I was back in Firenze!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Once Upon a Time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I stumbled on this place looking to kill a few hours before a flight out of Oakland. It's as authentic an Italian restaurant as you can find, short of Sorrento. It's on a quiet pedestrian alley. And the food and the service is delightful. I highly recommend it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We really liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We really liked this place. There were 5 of us and it was later in the evening so it wasn't real busy. The food tasted great. We really liked the option of 'small plate' portions. This was plenty of food for one person. AND it left room for the great desserts. The staff was attentive but not hovering over your shoulder. We completely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'era Una Volta also viewed

 

Been to C'era Una Volta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C'era Una Volta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.