We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, dodgy neighbourhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1925 Webster Street, Alameda, CA 94501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Aarschot, Belgium
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good hotel, dodgy neighbourhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because the hotels in San Fransico are just way too expensive. It was a bit of a drive when you wanted to go to SF but we did not need to be in SF the 4 days we stayed anyway. The location does not look very safe but we did not encounter any trouble... Staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and spacious. There was a pool, but didn't try it.. All in all we were very happy with the place and wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I used to live in Alameda so I am very familiar with the neighborhood. That is probably key to my approval of this Rodeway Inn because someone new to the area would have every reason to think twice when they see the place. I moved there in 1990 and I don’t recall the hotel ever looking any better (or worse, for that matter) regardless of owner or brand affiliation. Meanwhile Alameda has gone for a generally middle-class community to one that is white collar, techie middle class town with Target and Trader Joe’s.
While most people who stay at the motel probably have a car, it is a quick bus trip to downtown Oakland and the BART subway system. (It is possible to walk the tunnel between Alameda and Oakland. It’s not that far and there’s a sidewalk. You just have to deal with the car exhaust.) There’s also a commuter ferry to downtown San Francisco.
The guest room was fine – very clean. It was just oddly decorated. Someone did a nice job of coordinating the drapes, carpet and wall treatment but the bed linen was completely different. I have a feeling this is the doing of a clueless male who notices nothing. The mis-match visual makes everything look tacky.
This is the only Rodeway Inn I’ve stayed in but I’d guess the “breakfast” is brand-standard: cereal, oatmeal, toast, packaged pastries, juice, coffee. (Nothing heated.) The breakfast is in room 104.
The wifi worked fine.
There was a refrig and microwave plus coffee/tea service in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Location is ideal...a short 5 minute ride to the ferry to San Francisco, at a cost of $6.25 each way.
No real reflection on the place, but some guests, or non guests...we never found out...make a lot of noise outside our room, at ungodly hours...makes for a sleepless night. Did call the front desk, and it stopped. Housekeeping is a little wonky....we had left the Do Not Disturb Sign on the door knob...when we got back late from Yosemite...our beds were haphazardly made, with our stuff still on them, and no towels. Had to go to Front Desk to ask for towels. They were apologetic. Wifi did not work at all. Had to go to Starbucks across the street, to communicate with family. I have stayed at Rodeway's before and loved it...this place has much to be desired. We definitely will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights when visiting San Fran on a budget. The location is bittersweet - the bus stop straight to San Fran in a one second walk away from the inn, costs $4 and only takes 15 mins taking you right to the heart of the city. HOWEVER, the location was dodgy meaning there were loud arguments heard through the walls, lots of loud love making (we assume prostitution) - no one bothered us but it is DEFINITELY not safe for families. Through the day the area is fine - a great selection of fast food restaurants just a few seconds walk away. Wifi worked perfectly. Rooms were big and the shower was clean and powerful. Overall - great place for San Fran visitors on a budget but don't stay here alone or with a family!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is probably the worst place I have stayed in USA travels. Last time I was in Alameda, it was a huge Navy town and upscale town. Now it looks like an slumlord has taken over especially at the motel. Seems to me the owners are just taking the profits and running down the motel and then will dump it. I couldn't understand them when I called to confirm my reservation. The only other place to stay was full and looked nice...I can see why.

Room Tip: No spa or fitness center. We were by ice machine and it was visited at 1am and 3am. Not friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you think this place is overpriced, you haven't done much price-shopping in Alameda 94501. This isn't Oakland. People come to Alameda for a reason: ITS SAFE. I stayed here for 8 nights in August 2013 at $76 per night. Nothing else in Alameda comes close to the price point; Extended Stay America is over $100 with tax, the dated and onery Marina Village Inn is over $125; and both those competitors are off the bus line, you'll need a rental car. Location: This is a great spot for the Bay Area traveler, the 51A and other AC Transit bus stops are literally in front of the motel, its an 8-Minute ride to 12th Street BART, so you can explore the Bay by mass transit and always get back to your room without difficulty. Service: The folks that run this Rodeway Inn (it used to be a Days Inn, was something else before, its a very old property) are really, really nice. English is their 2nd language, but everyone I met--front desk staff, room cleaning crew, maintenance crew--were all really nice, friendly, and willing to help. The rooms are dated but the furniture is comfortable and very clean. The mini-fridge/freezer & microwave worked great. Shower was immediately hot, AC unit blows cold, bed was comfortable. There are hundreds of channels on the DishTV Satellite box, including comedy channel and HBO. Safety: During my stay I left thousands of dollars of sporting goods, laptop and bluetooth headset in my room, and nothing grew legs and walked away. Try that in Jack London Square or Motel 6 Embarcadero; if you're desperate to save $ and this place is too expensive, consider what your personal safety is worth: you can stay across the Estuary, but don't leave anything in your room or your car when its parked. This place is safe, has great friendly service, is in a good location, has great WiFi, and is tremendous value for the $. I will stay here again, assuming the management remains the same.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms are a little quieter (they're all noisy, its an old property on a busy intersect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and mother in law. Our room was fine but my MIL's "non-smoking" room stank of cigarette smoke. She was given another but it was not particularly clean. The decor is very dated and the whole place could do with redecorating.
Breakfast is a bit lame and the room only has a couple of tables. Staff were ok but not overly welcoming.
For what it is (a basic budget motel), the price is extremely high. It's what should be $50 a night charging about $100.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
0.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham -Oakland/Alameda
0.7 mi away
Marina Village Inn
Marina Village Inn
#7 of 8 in Alameda
3.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
2.2 mi away
Coral Reef Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda

Address: 1925 Webster Street, Alameda, CA 94501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda Hotel Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Oakland/Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.