We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Sure What It Is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asena Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asena Restaurant
2508 Santa Clara Ave, Alameda, CA 94501-4634
510-521-4100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 193 Restaurants in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not Sure What It Is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Restaurant was bustling at 7PM on a Monday evening, a sure sign of good food.
I had Paella, not a totally traditional version, but excellent, never the less. Wife and Son had lamb in a pomegranate sauce, excellent. Another member of our party had "day boat scallops" wrapped in bacon, with a sherry cream sauce, awesome. Gnocchi, with corn and ricotta salata, ravioli, some eggplant dishes etc. all on the menu. I guess you could call the menu eclectic. Ambiance is a bit bare bones, local restaurant hangout.
The owner bustled around greeting and helping out the waiter, twice he asked us about more bread, I am still waiting for it. He asked about a refill on the ice tea, after 10 min. the waiter was asked and he got us a refill promptly. He spent much time talking to regulars.
Food great,service okay.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth Going Out of Your Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I agree with all the reviews-this place rocks! GREAT food, nice atmosphere and excellent service. What else is there? And downtown Alameda is kind of cool just to walk around. Just watch out for the parking meters! If you are anywhere near Oakland airport this place is worth the drive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
“Best place in alameda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant in Alameda. I love it so much I almost didn't write this review, because I want it all to my self!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very friendly wait staff. Most times can get good service. Have had situations were they staffed for a smaller turnout. Food is simply excellent!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mafra, Portugal
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Park it here...not on Park Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Minced lamb, caramelized onions, Parmagiano Reggiano in filo pastry with sherry demi-glaze for lunch? Tiger prawns over house-made fennel fettuccine, crispy kale, French Feta, and anise butter for dinner? Enticing? I thought so. Even the simple house salad with grilled chicken is not ordinary at Asena Restaurant. Tucked away on a side street one block from the main thoroughfare of Park Street in Alameda, you could easily miss Asena, but now you know better.

Come for the wide selection of well-priced wines by the glass, come for a dessert of blood orange cheesecake, or come to practice your Turkish with gracious co-owner Muhittin, but come. You're welcome.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asena Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Asena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asena Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.