We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Japanese...amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kamakura Restaurant

Kamakura Restaurant
2549 Santa Clara Ave, Alameda, CA 94501
(510) 521-9121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 207 Restaurants in Alameda
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese...amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

My hubby loves sushi and when I saw the reviews on Tripadvisor I suggested going. This little restaurant was packed! There was about a 15 min wait, but so worth it. You could tell it was filled w locals. Hubby was in heaven and just kept thanking me for finding the place. Very small, but man can they put out some great sushi! First we had a fried soft shell crab which was wonderful! for dinner, I got seared ahi tuna, salad & miso soup. Hubby got an appetizer sampler platter to share which was great. Then he got yellow fin, tuna & salmon rolls which were great. An added dimension was the often heard singing of Happy Birthday lead by the older lady who walks all around checking on things. She dresses as if she has stepped out of a Vogue magazine! So cute! At the end of the meal we were served complimentary plum wine which was such a nice ending to a great evening. We loved the whole experience. Go if possible bc you will definitely be rewarded.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
SF, California
Top Contributor
434 reviews 434 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“A Real Japanese Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Kamakura provides a dining experience that closely parallels what we have experienced in Japan. Beginning with the warm greeting customers receive and continuing with the good service and delicious food followed with the complimentry glass of plum wine and traditional farewell by the staff. We have had their set dinners as well as their fresh sushi and sashimi on many occasions and we continue to be impressed. The ambiance is very warm and welcoming as is the owner Faith Yamamoto, who continues to provide her personal touch well into her 90's.
Only problem we have experienced is finding parking but it is worth haveing to walk a couple blocks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very bland food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went here for lunch because i had a taste for teriyaki and tempura and had a California Roll for starters.

The Calif roll was ok but everything else was so tasteless. The beef was tough and the teriyaki sauce didn't even have much of a taste. The salad was limp and tasteless and so was the tempura. I wouldn't have bothered to review this place except I am now suffering the consequences of eating tempura that apparently was drenched in grease......sick to my stomach! This is pretty basic Japanese fare....I won't be back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sushi value in Alamed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Fresh sushi that includes an appetizer, sliced orange "dessert" and plum wine at the end of a meal at the sushi bar. You can't beat this combination and all of it is delicious. Faith's chicken salad is delicious and a real treat when prepared at your table by Faith Yamamoto (the owner) herself.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Super sushi at the bar, with friendly sushi chefs and daily specials. I'm an old-school sushi kind of guy who doesn't go for the big, overwrought Americanized monstrosities that have become oddly popular. Kamakura has top-notch, real sushi - melt-in-your mouth hamachi toro, ume shiso, and other favorites. The non-sushi fare is also great - I love the sansei udon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamakura Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kamakura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamakura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.