We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pastries, breakfast or lunch - you choose!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Jolie

Cafe Jolie
1500 Webster St, Corner of Santa Clara and Webster, Alameda, CA 94501-3322
510-523-4500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Jolie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 199 restaurants in Alameda
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Sacramento
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Pastries, breakfast or lunch - you choose!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stopping in for a lunch break on Sunday, we were pleased to enter a bright, pastel-hued space with inviting outdoor seating. Hmmm, did we want pastries to go or a sit down meal? Nice to have that option. We had to wait a few minutes for a pleasant table for 2 near the pastry cabinet. The attentive staff brought our drinks post haste as we perused the menu, which included breakfast or lunch. My friend ordered the smoked lox on a baguette, which included three baguettes with salmon and dressing and a salad. She loved it. My burger was cooked perfectly and served on a small square roll, just enough bread but not too much bread. The potato salad was flavorful and not too mayonnaise-y. My iced tea kept filling. The environment was colorful, bright and happy, the waitstaff attentive and the food delicious, what more could one ask? Oh, the pricing is fair as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    16
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Wonderful breakfast in the early afternoon! The beignets were amazing! Must do an order of them for the table. My omelet was perfect and all four of us were very happy with the great food and pleasant setting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband says that the coffee tastes like he's back in Germany, and he can't find that anywhere else. We go their just for coffee sometimes, but I love the food. It feels like a European Cafe with a separate coffee bar area with pastries. I have yet to try the pastries but they look yummy! Well worth the wait on a busy weekend, but no wait if you have a weekend day off for a special treat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Place to Come Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First time here with my buddy and the food and service was excellent. We had the Beignet and Monte Cristo was amazing. We enjoyed each bite. Will definitely come back with friends. Highly recommended if you are in Alameda.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint cafe with excellent beignets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This little cafe on Webster Street in Alameda serves excellent beignets and, as an added bonus, there is chocolate dipping sauce! The service is great with pleasant smiling wait staff. On week-ends you may have a little wait, but it's well worth it. I have lived in Alameda all my life, so I can say this is a great step up from this spot's former venue. Try the croque monsieur or madame for a fine lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jolie also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Jolie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Jolie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.