We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Location, & Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Village Inn to your Saves list
Marina Village Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 Pacific Marina, Alameda, CA 94501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Reno, NV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellant Location, & Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

I stayed here on two separate Friday nights in two separate rooms. this month. The location is quiet next to the beautiful yacht harbor. The rooms were clean, and not much noise was heard in or around the motel. A coffee maker, microwave, and small refrigerator are in the rooms. A restaurant is nearby, but I didn't use it. Instead I went to a shopping plaza about 3/4 mile away. Groceries, fast food eateries (Gournet Burrittos, L&L Hawaiian), etc. I was in town to visit the USS Hornet Museum located on the old Alameda Naval Air Station. The motel was very convenient, almost a 2 1/2 mile strait shot to the USS Hornet. The only sad part was checking in. When they say check-in is a 3pm, they mean 3pm, no sooner.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    41
    29
    19
    27
See reviews for
25
44
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

I need to come to the bay area every 3 months for medical appointments and we always stay at the Marina Village inn. It is by far the best price we could find (they have fantastic last minute rates which we always take advantage of). The rooms are adequately sized and the breakfast is enough. If you are expecting the ritz this isn't it. But it is a nice place to lay your head for a few nights. The marina is very nice to look at as well. We don't come to Alameda expecting to swim so the pool condition isn't an issue though we have never seen it look inviting. The lobby has recently been remodeled so there is a flat screen TV with couches to sit and eat your breakfast. The toiletries are very nice

This last visit my parents were given a room that smelled like cigarettes. The hotel is non smoking but I guess that doesn't stop some people. They complained and were given another room, no problem but it was the only other available room. The room I shared with my children appeared recently remodeled and it was a very nice room overlooking the marina.

They also have free wifi

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FR16
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Marina village is a nice place located across San Francisco bay near Oakland.
The hotel rooms are large and well equipped. It is easy to park.
The only negative point is breakfast. There are no chairs nor tables; If you arrive after 8:15, you may need to ask for coffee or orange juice.
The hotel needs to have a dedicated room for breakfast and adjust the quantities to the number of people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrassValley
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

This is an older motel but very clean. Rooms are dated but the balcony looking out over the bay and the marina was very relaxing. The motel was very quiet although there were several guests staying there. There was plenty of bagels, coffee, fresh fruit, cereal and pastry's for breakfast that you could either take to your room or sit in the the lobbie and enjoy. I woudl definately stay there again. The staff were very friendly. Pool didn't look inviting. I think they painted the bottom green but it looked clean except for the color. Shopping was a good distance to walk but only a few minutes by car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We were quite surprised that this motel was in such a nice location and so well-kept
considering we paid only $37 + taxes for each of three night, from Wed-Friday. It's
on the marina in Alameda, a short drive from Oakland, right next to the Oakland Yacht Club.
If you want an inexpensive but quiet and clean place to stay while visiting the Bay Area,
this is a great choice for under $50 per night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Even in the run down ghost town of Trilingua Texas in a Hotel that bearly has running water and has antenna ears on the television did we have a better stay. We arrived to a hotel which we cannot check in early or even before 3pm. Our room had stains all over the place, the television which was supposed to have a cable input looked like it had an antenna hooked to it and you couldnt see thru the "snow" on it. When we asked if there was another room available we were told no and we couldnt leave because we would still end up paying for the room. The so called swimming pool or swanp as we saw it belonged to a couple of birds and you could not see thru the green slime coving the water. On the website it says that there's an indoor swimming pool...there is NONE! When we checked in we were laughed at by the female behind the counter and were denied any other info about any coupons to a nearby indoor pool which we could have used to take our 7 month old baby boy swimming which he loves to do each night. To end this tragic story on check out I asked what seemed to be the manager about the indoor pool and he said that they had coupons for the pool nearby when I asked the lady who was tucking her head down while this conversation was happening she said that she didnt know that we we're asking for an indoor pool she thought we asked about the swamp! Never again!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

It's kind of out of the way, but that's probably what makes the Marina Village Inn so affordable. it's a nice place next to the water and the rooms were nice. The soaps are so luxurious I felt guilty opening a bar just for my one night stay. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Village Inn

Address: 1151 Pacific Marina, Alameda, CA 94501
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Village Hotel Alameda
Marina Village Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.