We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy but Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Village Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Village Inn to your Saves list
Marina Village Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 Pacific Marina, Alameda, CA 94501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing Fancy but Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The room was a good size, everything was clean. The beds were comfortable. Decent enough crib/cot for our baby. The hotel is in a quiet area so it is well situated for getting a good sleep. The rooms also have a microwave and fridge which may come in handy. The breakfast is fine, coffee, cereal, bagels. The one downside of the location, would be if you don't have a car then you will be a bit of a walk from shops and public transport. We didn't see any taxi's so I'd say you need to phone for one.

The big plus is the price when you compare it with the general accomodation prices in San Francisco itself.

Room Tip: If you can't lift heavy cases, make sure you get a grounf floor room as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    41
    29
    19
    27
See reviews for
25
44
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our room was a typical hotel room with the usual amenities. There was nothing outstanding about the room with exception of the view. The internet connection was very slow during peak usage times, but the front desk offered a cable to hard wire to the internet. The location of the hotel is in a marina setting with many amenities nearby well as a short drive to downtown SFO. The marina/residential setting was very safe and inspired walks in the neighborhood. The breakfast offered was average for a hotel of this category. Free parking was next to the hotel with additional parking for the marinas. All in all a very good value for the money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Good- Location. Right next to the marina. Free coffee and bagels in the lobby till 9am.

If you stay here, check-in early so you can change rooms if needed.

Bad- everything had stains (bed sheets and towels). The bed was lumpy and hard, the mattress dipped down on both sides of the bed. Telephone and two of the four lamps did not work for our two night stay, mold and peeling paint in the shower area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We would definitely stay here again. Accomodated us with a handicap accessible room. Room wasn't real big, but was modern and clean. It is right on the marina - our room didn't have a view of the marina, but a lot of the rooms did. Very quiet. Nice walking trail. They were nice enough to let us check in early since we needed to change our clothes to get to our niece's college graduation on time. Pretty good continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a no-fuss, no muss basic old style motel tucked away among the Alameda marinas. If you need a low-cost place in the Oakland/Berkeley area, this place will not disappoint you --but only if you have a car. It's hard to find, though it's very close to the Oakland-Alameda tunnel and a quick drive to the Oakland airport by way of Doolittle Blvd. (where the car rental center is located). Even thought there is a gigantic king size bed in the room, the room is spacious and has a small balcony from where to watch the rowing teams go by in the morning.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms facing the waterway cost more but are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel looks like a flop house from the photos, but if I am ever in this area again, this will be my first choice. The view from the room was priceless.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

For aprrox 10 years we have been regular customers at the Marina Village Inn, and regret to say that we will never return. Since the new ownership group acquired the property approx 18 mos. ago the deterioration of the property has rapidly escalated.

Our last stay (2/16/12) lasted approximately 4 hours: Entering the room we were greeted by an overwhelming odor of marijuana (maybe Willy Nelson was in town?), a filthy bathroom with dead flies on the bathroom floor and light fixtures with no bulb, towels that were visibly dirty and stained giving the appearance of being used and unchanged, the bed linens also appeared unchanged (mascara on pillow cases) and the room heater did not work (40F night). The deal killer was the bed bugs in the bed.

These discrepancies were photographed on our i-phone. When we asked to change to a clean, habitable room, we were told that the only room available did not have a functioning heater.

IMHO, the place is a health hazard that is unfit for human habitation and we are contacting the Alameda Health Dept and BBB.

Room Tip: Look elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Village Inn

Address: 1151 Pacific Marina, Alameda, CA 94501
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Village Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marina Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Village Hotel Alameda
Marina Village Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.