We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1350 Marina Village Parkway, Alameda, CA 94501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Alameda
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and a friend stayed a night here as a stop over. We were greeted by an extremely helpful and nice lady at the desk by the name of Melanie who upgraded our room for us. The hotel and rooms are nice and well maintained. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Rob - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that Melanie was able to upgrade your room and was extremely helpful as well as nice. The staff and I truly enjoyed having you stay with us and would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    5
    12
    11
See reviews for
17
7
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The water level in the toilet is quite high. When you sit, your privates will be swimming...ugh.
Internet service is purported to be free. Unless you pay extra, however, when those who have paid extra come on-line, you get the super slow lane, which is to say no service at all.
TV channel selection is very limited, no Comedy Central, no CNBC (stock market), no MSNBC,
no Bravo, no channel guide.
Bring your own toiletries, none provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that the internet service was unavailable during your stay. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are working with our internet tech to provide better service. As well, as we work to improve our offerings, including television channels, we will keep your feedback in mind.

The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at oaa@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

there aren't many choices in Alameda. I've stayed with the same group of people twice at this hotel. Last time 2 years ago some people had truly dumpy rooms. The place has been entirely remodeled since them but already there are signs of wear as cheap materials were used so flooring is already coming up. This is a low service concept, I get that, but they don't even deliver what little service they offer.
We had 2 rooms for a week. My son got in his room and there was hair on the bedding!!. so he went down and requested clean bedding but he had to make the bed himself! They don't normally clean the room each day unless you pay extra. We requested one cleaning mid week. They did our sons room but not ours. They also never collected the dirty bedding that had been there on his arrival and he'd left in the closet. Our room wasn't cleaned at all. we requested cleaning again on our way out the next morning. we returned at 3 pm and it still hadn't been done so I brought down all our towels to change and told them to cancel the cleaning because we wanted to nap. Not long after that housekeeping knocked on the door waking us from our nap!
Also, they frequently cleaned up the pitiful 'grab n go' breakfast up to a full hour before it was supposed to be closed.
The windows were very dirty and this made a bad 1st impression and ruined the view of the pretty marina. The mattresses were rather hard and made my back hurt.

Room Tip: If you're willing to sacrifice service for convenience this is walking distance from a strip mal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
The staff and I read your comments about your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies that your rooms were not cleaned properly or refreshed as requested during your stay. In response, I am reviewing our company's cleaning standards and procedures with the entire housekeeping team to ensure this is not repeated. As well, I am working with the front desk staff on improving our grab-and-go breakfast policies, including when it is broken down each morning.

The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at oaa@extendedstay.com. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is nicely maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful! If you are in the Oakland area for business and have a car at your disposal, this hotel is right across a short tunnel from downtown Oakland and is in a safe, peaceful area right on the marina. Check out the pretty sunsets from a bench outside the hotel or try any of the cute restaurants on the mostly residential island of Alameda. The only small issue was the laundry room having a few broken dryers when I visited in May 2013, however there were still a few working ones and I did not have to wait long to finish my laundry.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Andrea - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know that the dryers were broken while you were here. Since you left, we have made repairs to them as needed. Still, it's great to hear that you felt safe at our hotel and the staff was friendly as well as helpful.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncanville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

our 'non-smoking' room on the 4th floor smelled like a smoking hallway. the room wasn't AS bad, but when we finally switched rooms to a 1st floor room, there was a noticeable difference. they ran out of to-go cups for coffee one morning and ran out of soap - no excuse for running out of non-perishables like that. the phone in our room was just a phone - no cord. useless. it was pointed out that next morning and was going to be resolved, yet when we returned late that night, it still was useless. it was finally 'fixed' the next day after we left for the day's activities. and had a voice mail from the hotel wondering about our stay. ironic. there was a mix-up on the 1 bed v. 2 beds that we needed, and though that might've been my oversight in booking the room, running out of basic things, esp. to-go breakfast type things when grab n go breakfast is what's offered, that just left a bad impression, especially in conjunction with the other things.
on the up side, we DID always have hot water for showers, the AC worked pretty well. the 4th floor room was quiet, but there was quite a bit of noise from above in our 1st floor room. I thought about calling the front desk but we were leaving the next day so I just didn't want to mess with it.

Room Tip: it was a good location for US since it was very close to where we needed to be, but i'm not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Denise - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that there was a mix up with your reservation room type and a lack of supplies available, including replenishment's to the grab-and-go breakfast. To make sure this doesn't happen again, the staff and I are working to improve our purchasing procedures and stocking policies.

I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention, I will also follow up with my staff to ensure that room change requests are followed up in a timely matter. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at oaa@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Quiet location by the Marina. Nice view but the property is a bit secluded (app. 10-15 minutes driving from civilization [ie. CVS in one direction and a food mart in the other]).

Clean bathrooms and fairly clean countertop in the kitchen (can't blame them for severe stains or burn marks from previous guests cooking escapades!). The room was a bit small though.

Checking in was friendly, quick and easy (I think it was Carrie who assisted us). The service marks/stars would have been much higher but for that our night was interrupted repeatedly as were called repeatedly (4 times) inquiringly into whether we wanted to extend our stay. We had merely inquired as to availability for the next day on our way in from getting groceries.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that we had called more than once inquiring if you were extending your stay. Still, we are glad to know that we were able to provide a friendly, quick and easy check-in as well as a clean room.

Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

While this hotel is not a fancy resort, it is very comfortable, clean and convenient. We loved the waterfront location and the convenience to Alameda, Oakland and San Francisco. It was quiet and felt safe. The staff was helpful and courteous. We loved having a full-size fridge, microwave and kitchenette. The room had plenty of closet and drawer space, and the bathroom had plenty of counter and storage area. We would stay again without question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It's great to hear that the room met all of your needs. We are also glad that the staff was very helpful and courteous.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda

Address: 1350 Marina Village Parkway, Alameda, CA 94501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Oakland / Alameda Hotel Alameda
Extended Stay America Alameda
Extended Stay Alameda
Alameda Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.