We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, slow wifi, needs upgrades, very clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Reef Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Coral Reef Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Reef Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Park Street, Alameda, CA 94501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Alameda
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average, slow wifi, needs upgrades, very clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I've heard mixed reviews from friends that have stayed here over the years, but I finally tried it myself this past week. I think the mixed reviews from tripadvisor and from friends are accurate.

As many have reported the front desk 'lost' my reservation. The woman I was dealing with at the front desk was nice, but seemed very new and not knowledgeable. A young man came out of the back office while she was assisting me and he seemed to have a permanent scowl on his face every time I saw him.

The housekeeping staff was very nice. My room was very clean and came with a kitchenette that I barely used. The hotel is close to Alameda Beach which is a very nice place to walk or watch the sunset.

There is a shopping center with restaurants across the street and a bowling alley next door.

I stayed at the hotel during the 2012 presidential election and I had hoped to be able to use their wifi to watch some election related videos but it was incredibly slow, I'm talking dialup speeds here. If you need decent speed for work or other purposes consider staying elsewhere.

I'd recommend that you try to get a room on the inside facing the pool as it was very quiet.

The continental breakfast is toast and cold cereal with juice and coffee so nothing special.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside facing the pool are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    36
    21
    31
See reviews for
56
31
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived at 11pm after a full day of flying with a newborn. Upon arrival, the "new" desk worker couldn't find our reservation. Turns out they had it under my middle name, not last name. He gave us the key for our room and when we tried to get in, the chain was locked from the inside! He had activated the keys to someone elses room! He then upgraded us to a "suite", which was very dated and scary looking. It was also a smoking room which was unacceptable with our baby. 3rd try was the charm and he upgraded us to a 2nd level "river view" room. Nice linens, renovated bathroom, great view of the canal and sunsets. Also had a small kitchenette which was key for a week long stay. From my understanding, this upgrade is quite a bit more money if you were booking online, which is unfortunate since it should be the standard. Room was cleaned daily with fresh towels and soaps. Pefect room for the amount of time you're in it. Close to all Alameda amenities including restaurants and shopping. Long drive to San Fran every day if that's where you're spending most of your trip. Close to Oakland and Alameda is a cute town itself. Staff is friendly and helpful. Less than a block from the beach. Didn't try the outdoor pool as the weather was chilly.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade to the "river view" suites, they are by far the cleanest and most updated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Disgusting and unsettling. If I had time I would have left the second I got here and waited 15 mins for someone, anyone to show up at the front desk. I passed the time by counting the number of flies in the lobby and runs and stains in the carpeting.

The room, oh dear God, the room is best described as the little horror under the eaves! Do you remember those old Zenith tube sets that hotels used to have, in the 80s! Well, the room had one. That was not the worst to be told. The bedding -stained, the quilt - cigarette burnt, the walls - like prison cells, the bath - dated, with peeling tub, burnt linoleum floors; the bed - lumpy and squeaky; the furniture - like discarded theater props; the curtains - ripped, dirty, stained!

I kid you not people, do not stay here if you have a choice!! Oh, how could I forget that its next door to a pool hall, bowling alley, hole-in-the-way bar with questionable characters in and out till midnight (on a Sunday!) I studied the layout and at all cost, avoid room 214 - worst placed room in the entire hotel and its tucked away down this weird dark corridor above the lobby.

Room Tip: room 214 is the worst on the property - don't accept it if you make the mistake of staying here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked 3 rooms through Priceline and when we checked in were upgraded to 1 bedroom suites. This is an older motel with very pretty grounds. Pool was too cold to use. Barely a block to the beach.
The canal reeks at low tide (?)
The room was very comfortable and we were there 3 nights.
Staff was very helpful and the breakfast was replenished until they ran out. Amazing donuts!
We were at least 25 minutes from SF and that was the biggest disappointment but we weren't willing to pay $100's of dollars extra to be in town.
Nice large balconies although not much furniture. We made do just fine.
Our shower didn't drain well and it was fixed very quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is pretty dated. It needs a face lift. Very disappointed that the pool wasn't heated even I'm the summer. This place is a motel for sure. Not much of a breakfast. But it is close to the bay and near great shopping. Go across the street to Panera for breakfast, or even better, down to Park Street to the amazing Ole's Waffle House. This place is okay for a short stay, but not a destination.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

It started with a broken toilet. It was fixed that day, but the smell was not something I could get around. There is water at the end of the block and when the tide goes out the stink is terrible. We bought a room deodorizer, which helped a bit, but I cannot believe every review doesn't mention this huge flaw. The room was shabby but clean. The beds were comfortable. The TV has very few stations and the free breakfast was almost nonexistent. By 7:30 am there was 1 doughnut and some coffee left, and the free parking fills up if you come back too late. The location was very convenient for our purposes but not even the low price would bring me back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

don't be fooled by the pictures you see of this hotel. I was hoping it would be a nice place away from the busyness in SF but as I got out of the car the stench of the bay hit my nose at 55 mph. the inside was worse, the staff seems very unhappy and I don't think they believe in cleanliness. there are dust bunnies hanging from the ceiling and the walls have a lot of dirt and scratches on them. the tv is at least 20 years old. To make matters worse the toilet got plugged. I would have been fine had they had a maintenance person on site, mind you this is 9am in the morning, but I was told they have a plunger and I am welcome to use it. What jerks, I will never stay at this place ever again. Do yourself a favor pay $10-$20 more and stay somewhere where they at least welcome you.

Room Tip: don't wast you vacation at this joint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Reef Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Inn & Suites

Address: 400 Park Street, Alameda, CA 94501
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Reef Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coral Reef Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Inn And Suites
Coral Reef Hotel Alameda
Coral Reef Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Reef Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;