We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the water at the edge of the Oakland Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Harbor Bay Parkway, Alameda, CA 94502   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockton, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“On the water at the edge of the Oakland Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very nice Hampton Inn at the northern edge of the main runway of the Oakland Airport. There is a shuttle, it is a very quiet and nice area, could not hear any planes from inside the hotel. No where to eat that is not a little drive though.

Exceptionally clean, very nice front desk staff, excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the runway also overlooked the eastern edge of the San Francisco Bay so there is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Tom,

We appreciate your nice review of our hotel. Thank you for mentioning the quietness of the rooms and the convenience of the shuttle.

On your next visit to our hotel, please contact me personally. There are some dining options that I think you might enjoy.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    82
    26
    7
    1
See reviews for
103
69
20
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice accommodations, staff was friendly.
The only draw back is that there was no place to dine that was within walking distance. In fact you need to drive about ten minutes through unfamiliar areas that are hard to describe other than high risk.

Room Tip: Bring something to eat, all that is available at night is vending machines. The breakfast is good, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Kevin,

I am glad that you found our staff friendly and that you liked the accommodations. On your next visit to our visit, please contact me personally. I think I can offer some dining options that you might enjoy.

Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed one night. It is near the airport with a small shopping center nearby for dining. The rooms were very clean, no hassles. Breakfast was good for the complementary cost. I thought it was a good value for cost and have little to complain about. Personally, I found the bed a little firm but that may be just my impression.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Martin,

Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. I am happy that your travels to our hotel were stress-free and that you enjoyed our breakfast and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We aim to provide a great value to our guests, from your comments it sounds like we have succeeded.

Come back again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were very happy with all your facilities while we are staying at your hotel. However, if you can, could be various breakfast menu and leave cafeteria open till little more late night for the meeting place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Jay,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. Your suggestions about the breakfast choices and hours will definitely be taken into consideration. We appreciate your sharing them with us.

Thank you for your review and for being our customer.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

No restaurant on premises and none near by. This hotel had very poor mattress and pillows. One could not stay on one side of the bed without rolling in toward the middle. The pillows were so soft that you had to fold them over and even then they went flat. The free breakfast was passable and nothing to brag about. I have been a business traveler and would not stay at the hotels that offer free breakfast. I had to stay here because our family stayed there as there was a wedding near by. I did not choose this hotel and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Paulette,

I regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations. That is certainly not indicative of the quality of accommodations we intend to offer our guests. Please call me personally for your next visit to the area so that I may personally oversee your reservation.

We take your comments seriously and will follow up appropriately. Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

very friendly staff, room big and comfortable. despite location near OAK runway it was very quiet. Nice bay to walk near...birds, good view of SF. Shuttle to nearby restaurants very nice. overall very good value within 30 minutes of downtown SF.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Thank you for your thoughtful review of our property. Many of our guests are also pleasantly surprised by our scenic neighborhood with our views of the birds and the bay. And so close to San Francisco.

Your business is important to us, thank you.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. The hotel was clean and quiet. The breakfast was nice according to Hampton Inn standards. The property was a bit far located in the business section outside of the airport. However, they kindly offered to shuttle us to go to the store. The clerks at the desk were nice, especially the girl who works evenings. She went out of her way to give us directions etc. The price vs quality was very good. However, a fridge+microwave in the 2 queen bedrooms would be nice. It a nice place to stay if you're visitng the area, only a 3o mins to SF.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, Director of Operations at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Claudine,

I am glad that you enjoyed your three night stay with us; and that you found the hotel clean and the breakfast above your expectations. We are proud of our team and their commitment to our guests’ comfort. I will pass on your comments to them.

Thank you for your business.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Address: 1700 Harbor Bay Parkway, Alameda, CA 94502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Guest Shuttle available from 4:00AM - 1:00AM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Alameda
Hampton Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.