We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE BEST lodging near the Oakland Airport.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Harbor Bay Parkway, Alameda, CA 94502   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Alameda
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This is THE BEST lodging near the Oakland Airport.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We fly into OAK preferentially because it is much more convenient than SFO. The Hampton Inn is quieter, cleaner, nicer than any nearby facility. That said, it is remote from the others (en route to the Alameda-SF Ferry) and one will need a car to get to restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. Our quiet, convenient location and guest service are usually important to our customers. The next time that you plan to stay with us, please feel free to contact me so that I can provide you with some information about some restaurants and entertainment nearby that you might like.

We appreciate your business very much.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    68
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
90
56
16
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Clean beyond belief! I wish my bed at home was as nice. The hotel is calm and quiet. The breakfast buffet is above average (nice fresh fruit compote, sausages, eggs, waffles, etc.) A really nice area for a morning walk or run. The only down-side is that there is no bar and that restaurants are some distance away. This is the hotel that Oakland/Alameda has needed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear George,

Your description of the cleanliness of our hotel, the peaceful atmosphere and the delicious complimentary breakfast was so well said. I am glad that you liked the property. On your next visit to our property, please contact me directly so I can assist you in finding restaurants and other entertainment that you might enjoy.

Thank you for choosing us for your trip to the Bay Area.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

GREAT place for the business traveler, no famlies, quiet, just wonderful!! A little hard to find tho. Nice to have free wi-fi and parking. Wonderful comp breakfast with great healthy choices and a smiling server too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Paula,

We appreciate your complimentary review of our hotel. We enjoy both business and leisure guests who like the quiet location, hearty breakfast, and good service.

Thank you for selecting the Hampton Inn & Suite Oakland Airport for your travels to the Bay Area. I hope you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel breaks the mold for airport hotels. If only every airport hotel was as clean, accessible, quiet and service oriented as this Hampton Inn, business travel would be much more tolerable. The amenities for this hotel were also much better than expected - the workout facility had newer equipment and was well maintained. The shuttle service was also very good.

Travelers should use caution when booking rooms near the Oakland airport since some of the surrounding neighborhoods are a little...sketchy... This hotel is set away from the less-than-appealing residential neighborhoods in the area, and feels very safe. It is actually near the Raider's training facility, and early risers may even see the players running by during morning workouts.

There is a reason this is the #1 hotel in the Alameda area, and I would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your description of our hotel, location and services was so well said. Our location is quiet, yet easily accessible and close to the airport and the Raider’s training facility. Many people, including some Raiders enjoy our walking and biking paths by the Bay. I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel and our complimentary breakfast.

Visit us again soon, we look forward to it.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed one night on my way to CO for a ski trip. Front desk is very helpful and has good advice. The shuttle driver was nice and friendly. The location is a little hard to find but my gps steered me to the front door. I was worried about safety as it says Oakland but the hotel is located in an office park area and is in Almeda but is only about 4 minutes from the airport. I used the park and fly which is a good deal.

Room Tip: There is a little noise since they are next to the airport so ask the desk which rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments about our helpful staff and convenient location. We strive to make travel easy for our guests with our shuttle service, complimentary breakfast, and other services. I am glad we were able to make your journey more enjoyable.

We look forward to your next visit, thank you for choosing our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Not only is this one the best Hamptons ever in terms of room size, cleanliness, facilities, and service, it has an amazing view! Instead of the usual parking lot, a breathtaking vista over the bay! Very pleased with the hotel, and its location. Oakland has a gritty/dodgy reputation, but no worries here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are proud of our beautiful view of the San Francisco Bay. We think it is unique and peaceful in such a seemingly urban area, I hope you found it restful.

Your compliments about the size of our rooms, the cleanliness and the service will be conveyed to our staff. They love to know that our guests recognize their efforts in offering a great stay.

Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I loved this hotel! I was on business and I had hoped to be booked at the Marriott only to be disappointed by what I thought would be below average. I was expecting cheap and chintzy, but I got exceeded expectations.

I felt the hotel was extremely clean, the staff was very helpful and let us check-in super early, I appreciated the constant spread of hot drinks and complimentary fruit and cookies throughout the day, the rooms were very comfortable, the beds just right and I felt that I had everything I needed, and if I missed anything, the hotel would hook me up.

For once, I slept peacefully and soundly because I felt so comfortable in my surroundings. I could see the effort the hotel was making and I appreciated it!

And did I mention the awesome breakfast spread? Yeah. Awesome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhotels, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your complimentary review of our hotel was so nice to hear. Our team strives to keep our guests happy, so they will be glad to hear their efforts acknowledged. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and the complimentary refreshments. Offering a good night’s rest is the highest accomplishment of a hotel, thank you for letting us know that we succeeded.

We look forward to your next visit with us, come back soon.

Sincerely,
Dhruv Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport

Address: 1700 Harbor Bay Parkway, Alameda, CA 94502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Alameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Guest Shuttle available from 4:00AM - 1:00AM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Oakland Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport Hotel Alameda
Hampton Inn Alameda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.