We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tavern 101

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tavern 101
28434 Roadside Drive, Agoura Hills, CA 91301
(818) 991-7227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 83 Restaurants in Agoura Hills
Restaurant details
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Go for the beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

BBQ is average to above average. Garden atmosphere is great but their beer selection on draft is off the charts...Firestone, Dogfish Head, Ballast Point, Stone, La Fin du Monde, green flash and racer IPAs, Abt 12 St Bernadus and on and on. The bottled offerings are ridiculous too. Go for a beer, you'll have two.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
“What a cool place to enjoy with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We live in Agoura and wanted to give this place a try. Were so glad we did the food the service and beer selection is amazing... Definetly coming back for more!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“2nd visit...now we can conclude.............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

After our first visit we said we'd give it another try, and that was last night when the mood sent us down the 101 to the Tavern. This time we sat outside on a nice early summer evening. The service is very attentive and well trained. Drinks were fine.

After our first visit it felt like the identity of the place was mixed. This time I think it came into tighter focus for us. Think insde as the sports bar/burger joint, and outside as the music lounge for dinner or drinks. The food is solid but unspectacular. The crowd outside is older, think 40-65 years old. The music last night was a jazz group, and the only issue, and it isn't a small problem, is the volume. When they are on all pleasant conversation ends. Given it is a small space I think the ownership needs to decide if they want the band to be THE attraction of the night, or a bit of background fun. Right now, for us at least, the balance is way out of whack towards the band dominating.

There is much to like..I had the ribs and they were solid. I don't know if the Tavern will get a third visit for us, my guess is if there is no band it would be a fun place to hang with friends for a few hours.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“An interesting split personality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Is it a bar, sports bar, live music bar, or breakfast/lunch/dinner restaurant? Check..it's all of those things. The Tavern 101, located about 40 feet literally from the road it is named after, is an energetic attempt to be all things to anyone who may walk through it's doors. We went on a Friday night in hopes of watching the NCAA basketball games and getting something to eat. The joint was jumping. There was a band on the patio going, and about eight TV's inside. It took a few minutes to get seated, but we were off an running. The menu is roadhouse food. Decent, solid and no calorie counting allowed. They have an unusual habit of putting a link of sausage on the plates, the same way a good deli may put pickles out on a table. The burger was adequate but overdone with dressings and the link sausage buried inside. Slaw was good, beer cold.

The tables were curiously fixed to the floor and were spaced very close together, as in too close to sit and relax if someone was at the table behind you. The lights were up too high, giving it the feel of a high school cafeteria. The patio where the band was playing looked pleasant for a spring evening, and the noise from the 101 was hardly an issue.

The Tavern 101 will get another visit from us for when the mood strikes for TV's, food and beer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“BEST RIBS, PERIOD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

In the three weeks that we were in Calabasas, we have eaten in a lot of restaurants; Tavern 101 TOPS them all!

If there is only one restaurant you should NOT miss, this is it! Period!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 101 also viewed

 
Agoura Hills, CA
 

Been to Tavern 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tavern 101, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.