We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food but very bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ONO Hawaiian BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
ONO Hawaiian BBQ
13070 W Rancho Santa Fe Blvd, Ste C7, Avondale, AZ 85392-1759
623-536-0188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 110 Restaurants in Avondale
Cuisines: Barbecue, Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Food but very bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

waited over 50 minutes for my food and the place was not crowded. the food was great but if the waits continue it wont be worth the wait anymore. A bit expensive too for the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avondale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great for dinner on the go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is a family favorite when we don't feel like cooking. The kids love the chicken teriyaki bowls, while the main entrees are so generous that two can share. The steamed cabbage and macaroni pasta are delicious. Great place for dining in or take out. Staff is reall friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My wife & I eat there every so often they have great food. The staff is always great & very friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Different type of BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We went there on a lunch hour. The restaurant appeared to be a bit short staffed so the dining room was a bit in need of attention. However, the food and service was very good. The portions were large and the food tasty! I would go again.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good Hawaiian BBQ...nothing extraordinary.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

There aren't many places to get Hawaiian BBQ, and ONO is the only one near where we live. It fills the bill - the bbq short ribs are great, and the brisket and chicken are both good as well when you are in the mood. My chicken was a bit stringy...but the seasoning was good. I like to get the combo that mixes all three of these meats, with rice and macaroni salad. Of all the food, the macaroni salad is the best, a good blend that is nice and creamy.

One con is that I simply got water and it was very highly chlorinated in flavor...not refreshing or appealing to drink. This, coupled with a slightly disinfectant smell in the restaurant (from a recent cleaning?) made me change from dining in to take-out, as I didn't want to taint the flavors of the food with the smells of the dining room and chlorinated water.

If you are in the mood, its good but not great.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ONO Hawaiian BBQ also viewed

Avondale, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 
Avondale, Central Arizona
Avondale, Central Arizona
 

Been to ONO Hawaiian BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ONO Hawaiian BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.