We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nascar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix International Raceway

Phoenix International Raceway
7602 S. 115th Avenue, Avondale, AZ 85323-9514
602 252 2227
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Avondale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous one-mile oval track welcomes the annual Fall NASCAR weekend, plus the Winston Cup, Busch, Craftsman Trucks and Featherlite Southwest races.
Avondale, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nascar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Been here for 3 Nascar races and I just love it....and its close to where I live which makes its better....they even have rides to the gate from your car ....

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    31
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
683 reviews 683 reviews
170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
1,018 helpful votes 1,018 helpful votes
“A real NACSCR gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have only been for NASCAR events so cannot comment on any other activities at the track. Sure the parking is a bit of a pain but if you are not in a rush it is fine. If you are in a bit of a rush park off premisis and take a shuttle in. The view from the grandstands is very good since the track is only a mile. I have walked the entire track during a race and looked at things from the mountain, at both ends of the track and on the backstretch. I enjoy all views. Nothing fancy but fan friendly.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nascar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

First time there and found it to be exciting as it was a Nascar race and the grounds were clean and the people in attendance were both friendly and courteous.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Start your engines!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have watched nascar over theyears with my husband. I really can't seem to stay interested for 4 hours while its on TV. Then I went to a race! Wow! incredible is the word that comes to mind. I loved every moment I spent at Phoenix International Raceway. We are returning again this November. Go Jimmy!!!!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Love the races...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

PIR is a great place to take the family. The parking is really the only downside. You have to walk for miles from where your car is parked. They do have people that will peddle you but we never took them up on it. They should have shuttles. That aside - there is nothing like hearing and seeing Nascar in person.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix International Raceway also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix International Raceway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix International Raceway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.