We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Rte. 66 Diner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ranch House Cafe

Ranch House Cafe
Lewis St, Ash Fork, AZ
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Ash Fork
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Litchfield Park
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical Rte. 66 Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

just like the Rte. 66 diners. Good menu, lots of food for the price. Chicken fried steaks, patty melts, and a lot of other things we didn't order, all for very fair prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    13
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good deal for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Nothing fancy, but this place will definetly fill you up! I ordered the 'hamburger steak' dinner. For a little over 10.00, I received about a pound hamburger patty (it was HUGE), which came with brown gravy and grilled red onions, vege of the day (canned mixed veges), a decent salad, REAL mashed potatoes w gravy, and a slice of toast. Nothing spectacular, but I was stuffed. My husband ordered the pancakes and bacon (breakfast served all day) and for 7.00 got three plate sized old fashioned thick pancakes with 3 thick slices of bacon. Like I said...nothing fancy, but if your sick of fast food and want to fill your stomach, you can't beat it. The service was great, very friendly. Coffee is pretty good, and lots of room for parking if your towing a camper or driving truck.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place to stop and recharge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We are locals (living 28 miles south) and have probably passed this place hundreds of times getting on/off the interstate, but never stopped (always too busy?). Had breakfast there this morning, and have to say that appearances are deceiving; pleasant staff, good food and service. prices are in line with most other similar restaurants. Rustic interior and exterior. Look for the big sign that says "CAFE" if you're westbound, or the big green sign that says "Ted's Bullpen" (a former and now closed truck stop). Hopefully, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ash House Restaurant, Ashfork AZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast. It is a medium sized place. It does a really nice breakfast and we had nice food. It is reasonably priced and we were made welcome by the staff. There are quotations on th ewalls and books for sale with some of them in it. We had a visit from te route 66 motorcycle club while there and they were very friendly. Would reccommend tis place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Fork, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not as good as it was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I'm a local and have been going to this restaurant for over 10 years. The service used to be good, prices reasonable and the food was good. Over the past couple of years, since new ownership, the service has been lacking and the prices are rising (overly so). The quality of the food depends on who's doing the cooking. Sometimes it's good, sometimes it's not. I've seen where simple orders take 30 minutes to get. I've seen tables of four people where two got their food and the other two were still waiting for theirs 20-30 minutes. The place was busy but they only have 10-12 tables. It was a Sunday morning and my friend ordered one pancake with bacon and it took 20 minutes for them to take her order and 30 minutes for her to get it. I am really saddened that the only restaurant we have in town has gone downhill like this. If you're traveling through, do give it a chance and if you don't like your experience, please let them know. Maybe it will help them see why the locals are staying away in droves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranch House Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ranch House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ranch House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.