We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Western style place to eat, drink, and be merry.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Filly's Restaurant & Lounge

Filly's Restaurant & Lounge
1615 N Apache Trail, Apache Junction, AZ 85219
(480)671-3056
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Western style place to eat, drink, and be merry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is a destination. That is, it is a great place to eat, drink, and be merry with good food, live entertainment, and nice western-theme accommodations. When you arrive, you may see cars parked along the road. Some people do that by preference, however there is plenty of parking in a couple of overflow lots. Out back, there is a place to tie up your horse away from the motor vehicles. The inside is decorated with all sorts of items from bridles to pick axes. There is a band stage inside and also one outside in a large patio area. The entertainers play country, western, and classic rock and roll. This is a dance place, so be prepared to see lots of couples dancing - this is much more of a couples and group place, rather than a single-and-mingle. However, singles are very comfortable. The food is good and the portions are generous - I get stuffed and have food left on my plate. Service is very good. The employees, servers, entertainers, and customers are all friendly. I'd say it is a sort of western night club. Dress is casual and anything will do, but many people dress in classic western style, so you will see cowboy hats and frilly dresses. It's kind of like a trip back to the old west of more than 100 years ago, but with electricity and running water. Filly's seems to always have a crowd. I believe they generally close about 10:00 PM, so it isn't a stay-late-and-get-super-drunk place, which is good news. The customers are there to have a good time, not to get stinking drunk, which is probably part of the reason the place has such a nice atmosphere. Philly's definitely belongs on your culinary and entertainment bucket list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    53
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food. Don't be in a hurry.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Sat outside. One man playing guitar and dining was great! Food delicious but as it got busier waitress was so busy didnt get around for more drinks. Over all nice place!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, Good music...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great food at reasonable prices...loved the catfish and the chicken wings were delicious, and sooo many wings! The entertainment, both in the outdoor dance area and on Sunday night at the indoor jam, was very good. Get there early, the place packs out quickly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at Filly's for lunch at 11:30 a.m. on a Saturday. There was a biker gang out front when we passed it earlier that day, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but it had a great rating on Urban Spoon. We sat out back where there was an enormous seating area of picnic tables with plastic tablecloths and umbrellas. The service was slow but friendly. There was a band setting up to play live music from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. We enjoyed watching them set up. The place was pretty deserted when we arrived, but it was completely full by the time we left (right before the band started playing). There was a mixed crowd and I'll bet some great dancing happened on the outdoor dance floor after we left. The food was okay. We had the homemade chicken strips, which came with some delicious housemade ranch, and BLTs. It was good but not amazing. The fries were also good, as was the coleslaw.
I would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere - terrible food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Friday night. The music was great, service friendly, but the food was cold and greasy. I am not a big eater, but the portions were very small. We all had dinners and we ordered a side order of onion rings. There were exactly 5 onion rings that were over done. Our meals were way over priced for what we received. We will go there again for beverages and music, but dine somewhere else.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filly's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 

Been to Filly's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filly's Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.