We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apache Trail KOA

Apache Trail KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apache Junction
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apache Trail KOA
Save
You added Apache Trail KOA to your Saves list
1540 S Tomahawk Rd, Apache Junction, AZ   |  
Hotel amenities
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

As we arrived a little early, the staff were (very wisely, considering the heat) still having their siesta, but they had taped their instructions for us outside the office, so we could find and enter our Kabin easily. It was outfitted in the standard way, so very much allright for us.

We were very happy with the AC, the covered picknick table for our breakfast, and the lovely pool. Staff were friendly, shops were nearby, so we couldn't understand why this KOA was so enormously empty at the beginning of August. We did the Apache Trail, and enormously enjoyed the ride.

Absolutely worth a visit, this KOA!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
shaggydogdevon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here on last night in USA before catching flight home. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful: the campground is a clean as you can get: you could eat your food off the ground. Great pool and hot tub: lots of cactuses which were flowering and alive with hummingbirds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed one night in one of the Kamping Cabins at this Arizona KOA. The cabin was tiny, but very clean, comfortable, and cute. It had one full-size bed and a bunk bed, a small writing table and chair, and a small ledge between the beds that you could use for smaller items (a book, phone, etc.) The small porch also had a swing. The lady who checked us in was very personable and helpful. The campgrounds were clean and well-kept. There were two drawbacks: First, there was a group of campers who were a bit loud. They may be long-term campers, as they had a string of lights set up at their site. They sat outside talking and laughing but shortly after the scheduled "quiet time" of 10:00 p.m., they did quiet down for the most part. The other noise problem was two dogs that barked for a long time - possibly not even on the campground property but I could hear them barking and barking. This isn't something the park manager can control, but just be aware. Bathrooms and showers clean and well maintained. This is a good deal (about $50/night for the cabin) for travelers in the Phoenix area.
(A note: My son did not care for the restrooms, and said it felt creepy. A man was in his underwear only, and another man was washing his upper body in the sink. Don't know about campground restroom etiquette for men - perhaps this is the norm.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have stayed at this KOA several times over the years and have found it to be pretty good overall. However, each year its WIFI has just plain bad. This year it was particularly bad, thus this review.
This is actually a pretty good KOA: friendly staff, good facilities, etc. But I enjoy keeping up with the news and email when I travel. It is simply not possible at this KOA. The response time is very slow, taking up to one or two minutes to load a web page. After finally getting we web page up, it was usually gone in a few minutes, resulting in a "no response from the website" message. There is no reason for an advertised WIFI to simple not be functional like this one is.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Due to Arizona being bankrupt and a lot of State Parks being closed down, it was hard to find campgrounds in the Phoenix area. Wanted to stay at Lost Dutchman State Park off Apache Trail, but since it was closed we stayed here, which is basically the start point of the Apache Trail (an amazing drive). Stayed 2 nights in tent. Had electric and water hookup which was nice. Blazing hot early in the morning tho, so be prepared in summer. Showers were clean and refreshing. Also had a pool. We stayed so active once we got to the campground, we we ready to sleep, so if was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apache Trail KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Trail KOA

Address: 1540 S Tomahawk Rd, Apache Junction, AZ
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Apache Junction
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Apache Junction
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Apache Trail Koa Hotel Apache Junction

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apache Trail KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.