We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of the lake is the best part” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA

LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA
16802 E Apache Trail, Apache Junction, AZ
480.288.8290
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Ice Cream, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Arizona
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“View of the lake is the best part”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The restaurant people must have read their online reviews because everyone was nice and efficient. The food is just average but it's so nice to eat on a lake in AZ. Stick with tried and true foods like burgers. The ice cream was the hero.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    17
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“The view is outstanding, the food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

As with most people, we ate here while waiting to ride the Dolly steamboat. I love sitting outside by the water, and the deck was very nice.

My husband had a sandwich and I had a salad. Both were tasty. This is not gourmet food, but a good lunch.

The service from the waitstaff was fine, too. I must agree with some reviewers that the system for seating people was much more complicated than at other restaurants. We were lucky as it was not a busy time because those going on the boat were mostly done eating, so we enjoyed it very much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,232 reviews 1,232 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 334 cities Reviews in 334 cities
992 helpful votes 992 helpful votes
“They need a better system”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I would rate this restaurant 5 for views from the deck, 4 for service once you get seated, 3 for the quality of the meal, and 1 for the system that actually gets you seated. So, to fix things they need to make a few changes in the way they treat people who line up to get into the place.
In our situation we wanted to sit on the deck and were prepared to wait for the opportunity; however, if you wanted to sit inside there was no wait....the problem was that the folks in charge of seating never asked anyone what they preferred...they just let us stand there like McDonalds line.
There were people behind us that wanted to just sit inside, but no-one even approached them.
All they have to do is put up a sign that tells people the two choices and then have a responsible individual "care".. This really upset some folks who turned and left after 10 minutes.
Very poor management.
The wait staff did a great job, the cooks prepared a reasonable meal, the price was fair and the view was perfect. So, wise up Lakeside and read the reviews.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Denied”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

EAT ELSEWHERE before you board the Dolly (which is great! with friendly staff and great popcorn).

After being ignored for at least 30 minutes and many attempts to get some indication if we would be seated anytime soon we were told by a very rude waitstaff (this behavior appeared to be consistent with all staff we observed- especially the one that badgered an eldery man in front of all of us for her tip) that they " likely would not be able to feed us" in time to board our boat as there were "at least 45 others" that were "waiting for their food already". There was no sorry, no other alternatives offered, and no notice given to the other 50+ folks behind us in line.

FYI Tortilla Flats has a great restaurant and other food options too and is just 2 miles up the road- go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for lunch to show off AZ scenery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The food is good but the setting for lunch or early dinner is awesome. Great place to take family and friends from out of town to show off Arizona' natural beauty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA also viewed

Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
Apache Junction, Central Arizona
 

Been to LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAKESIDE RESTAURANT & CANTINA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.