We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and wonderful caretakers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Essentials

Bear Essentials
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchor Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Essentials
Save
You added Bear Essentials to your Saves list
28160 Tall Tree Rd, Anchor Point, AK   |  
Hotel amenities
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place and wonderful caretakers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

These were the friendliest caretakers we met on our whole trip. Carl was kind and had wonderful Alaskan tales to tell. The room we stayed was comfortable and clean. We had lots of room for the kids to sleep. Carl is the treasure to the Bear Essentials cabins. It is kind of far out there but I didn't mind knowing I was going to be there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ringoes, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We first stayed here in 2006. Since then, we have been back 4 times. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the price is extremely reasonable. It is off the beaten path and you have to pass over a bridge that is in disrepare (I understand that situation is now being addressed), but it is worth it. The caretakers are wonderful people. Carl is very entertaining with his stories. They bend over backwords to make your stay enjoyable. They also have kitchen facilities so you can cook yourself a meal. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We have stayed at Bear Essentials the last two years on our trek from Nebraska to fish halibut with Catchalot Charters. The hosts are great people and will do everything to ensure your stay is pleasant. Off the beaten path, it is very relaxing. We stayed in the Snowshoe Room and slept six with the fold out futon on overlook deck. The pricing is right and the atmosphere is great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa in AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

What a great place to stay fish and relax. The people there are the best and so helpful. Will be back

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

Recently returned from a vacation to Alaska and wanted to recommend one placed we stayed, Bear Essentials in Anchor Point (about 20-30 minutes from Homer). If you want to get off the beaten path and enjoy nature and good company at reasonable prices, then this is the place to stay.

Bear Essentials is located about 2-3 miles off Sterling Highway 1 on a gravel road. The cabin, along with the furniture in it, was hand built by the owner Ken. (His furniture is for sale; which can be customized to your specifications). The cabin has two rooms, one that holds a maximum of four people and another that holds a maximum of six. Despite being off the track, each room is equipped with running water (shower, sink, toilet) and our room (Bear Den) even had a television. Perfect for those that “like camping” but prefer their own bathroom!!

Every morning Karl and his wife Jane (cabin caretakers) served us a wonderful warm breakfast and in the evening marshmallows, graham crackers, and chocolate would appear at the mere mention of food as we sat around the campfire. Ken (and his brother Steve) entertained us with stories of their experiences in Alaska (ask about when he tried to “pet” a moose) while we enjoyed the midnight sun. He was a truly gracious host, even allowing us to borrow his ATV so we could explore the forest around us.

Given its location, you will need a vehicle in order to enjoy the area around Anchor Point, which offers fishing and clamming for people that enjoy those activities. Homer is an easy drive from Bear Essentials and offers a multitude of tourist activities including kayaking, flight seeing, shopping, etc.

This was definitely one of the most enjoyable places we stayed while in Alaska and hope to return in the future. Ken is currently building a second log cabin next to the first, which might be completed in 2007??

[--]

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Essentials? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Essentials

Address: 28160 Tall Tree Rd, Anchor Point, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchor Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Anchor Point
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Bear Essentials Anchor Point, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Essentials, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.