We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & friendly customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor River Inn

Anchor River Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchor Point
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor River Inn
Save
You added Anchor River Inn to your Saves list
34358 Old Sterling Hwy, Anchor Point, AK 99556   |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful & friendly customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

While planning our trip our plans changed. I had booked a room here for two nights and the evening before we were to arrive, my husband got on a fishing charter in Homer. With a 6am time to be at the boat, and road construction between the two towns, we didn't want to chance it. This was his birthday gift and he was really excited. I called and asked about cancelling our stay, with less than 12 hours to go, and they were absolutely wonderful. ln fact every time I spoke to them they were friendly and helpful. I really hope we get to stay here in the future!! Good location and less expensive than Homer!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I lived in Anchor point some years back and knew the Anchor from back then. The food was good back then and the rooms were clean. We went down to visit old friends this last weekend and were very disappointed in both the room and the restaurant. The room stunk like urine. Carpets were stained to attest to the smell. It was bad enough that we bought a bottle of frebreeze to mask the smell, and left the window open to try and air it out. The restaurant was not much better. Dirty tables, dirty under tables, and the food was not much better. The amount of people that ate there shows how bad it has gotten. Back in the day it would be packed with locals. On Saturday night this time we counted 4 tables with people. Breakfast was ok, but the dinner menu was horrid. Had the shrimp Alfredo. The sauce was so old that it had broke and separated.My wife has the shrimp sautéed in butter. It wasn't butter. It was oleo. Hope they can regroup. There is no other place in town to go to. When we go back next time. we will find another place to go, even if it means going to Homer. I wish them the best. They are going to need it to stay above water based on what we experienced.

Room Tip: At this point in time I would stay somewhere else. They need to get the place cleaned up.Hate to say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRayAK, General Manager at Anchor River Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
At the Anchor River Inn we strive to provide each guest exceptional value for their dollar. When this guest mentioned to one of our staff at the store that there was an unpleasant odor in the room, I was immediately notified. Our front desk staff asked the guest if we could move them to another room but the guest declined the offer. The restaurant also provides our customers with a great value and very good food. We are supported by our locals all year long. I can assure you that none of our ingredients this time of year have the opportunity to get old, but if the preparation is unsatisfactory we make every attempt to correct it when we are notified. At a time when lodges across the state are closing down and disappearing, the Anchor River Inn is still going strong and will be here for another 50 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anchor Point hotels

North Pole
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for one night as it was the least expensive in the area. Friendly staff and a clean room. Our only problem was the loud noise from the road construction equipment right next door. That has nothing to do with the inn; that is one of the sounds of summer in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is our second year staying at the Anchor River Inn. We enjoy the great hospitality they have there, and will definetly stay again. The rooms are basic, but are just fine. Best price by any means, plus you have all the services you need right at the Inn.
Thanks Again,
Mitch, Lynnette, Lamont and Kimberly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My daughter, her friend and I stayed in one of the fisherman rooms. It was a very clean and comfortable room. We slept very well and it was quiet and had a nice view. We will return in the future. We ate breakfast the next morning and used our $15 food voucher. The food was great and very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I just spent 2 nights at the Anchor River Inn. It was quiet and I slept like a baby. Everything was clean. Plenty of towels. There is a convenience store, a liquor store, a restaurant and a bar right across the parking lot so if you want a snack, dinner or a drink it is all close by. Everyone was really friendly and the service was great. I would rec this to my friends with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikiski, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and some of the crew he was working with got STUCK at this hotel.The ceilings leak and all the rooms Ive seen had BLACK MOLD growing in different parts of the rooms. It sent one of the guys to the hospital with a lung infection from it. The service sucks. It takes over and hour to get your food in the restaurant or lounge, than you have to wait another hour to get your bill, than another 30-45 min to get your change. This place is a joke and so is the owner and everyone that works in it.

Room Tip: There are alot of other choices... Trust me you dont want to stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRayAK, General Manager at Anchor River Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Guests at the motel during this time were part of a construction crew that had rented all of our rooms. Unfortunately, several of the crew members were dissatisfied because there friends were being lodged in the city of Homer and were enjoying a lively night life while they were "stuck" in our smaller, quieter community. Some felt it necessary to invent a number of complaints repeated over and over to their company until they were finally moved out. We regret that our business was entangled in this dispute. We have lodged many work crews in the past that have been very satisfied with our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor River Inn

Address: 34358 Old Sterling Hwy, Anchor Point, AK 99556
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchor Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Anchor Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Anchor River Inn Anchor Point, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.