We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a good cleaning!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2145 South College Street, Auburn, AL 36830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Auburn
Anderson, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“needs a good cleaning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

we were visiting family in Auburn Al we waited until we arrived in Auburn to find a hotel to stay in...big mistake! There was a football game at the Unv that week-end and even tho it was not a big rival game the hotels were mostly full or rates for a run of the mill hotel was over $100. a night. Which I wish we had gotten. The EconoLodge charged us $85. So we stayed in a ground level room with a view of the back of the waffle house dumpsters. The bed was uncomfortable and the room needed cleaning..which I disinfected everything with lysol and clorox wipes. Next time we go to Auburn we will plan ahead and check out better hotels and make reservations..possibly in Opelika which is just up the road from Auburn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    8
    2
    8
See reviews for
11
9
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sallisaw, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our stay at Econo Lodge was very pleasant. Great customer service from front desk agents! Room was very clean. Bonus was our complimentary breakfast at waffle house. Overall, great hotel for price we paid. Will stay with them again in future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011 via mobile

The nightclub next door has a live band on the weekend which can be heard through the walls even with the television on. The bed linens appeared to be unwashed. The carpet was dirty.. You wouldn't want to walk barefoot on it.The walls are thin, my neighbors had company coming and going all night. This motel was not worth the free breakfast at the Waffle House.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

There is a live band that plays loudly next door until 3:30 a.m., and the road noise is very loud also. Our bathroom was not clean. The beds were not comfortable. The rug was disgusting (my socks were black). The front desk couldn't answer any of our questions. It made my worst hotel I've ever stayed at list.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Good value, and the bonus was a free breakfast at the Waffle House next door. We stayed there because we saw it from near the interstate. The rooms also have a microwave and fridge, and they were very friendly

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, CT
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed at the Econolodge during a college tour trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful (although we didnt really need much help), the room was clean and well appointed. there was a mini fridge, coffee maker, ironing board and blow dryer. We knew we were at a budget hotel and it met and surpassed our expectations. I really cant even imagine what the other reviewers saw.

Oh yeah - upon check-in we were surprised to learn that we were getting free breakfast (for all four of us) at the Waffle House next door. And this was a real breakfast!!!!!!!!!!! not one of those skimpy continental offerings.

We are going back to tour Auburn University again and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC Area
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2004

Stayed here for two nights in October. I was a bit worried at first because my impression of the Econo Lodge chain is much like that of Motel 6s or Super 8s. But the Econo Lodge Auburn was in a good location--about 5 minutes driving from the supermarket, close to other restaurants and hotels. Clean, simple rooms. A good bonus about staying at the Econo Lodge Auburn is that you get a free breakfast voucher each morning to eat at the Waffle House. Not bad if you are on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2145 South College Street, Auburn, AL 36830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Auburn
Auburn Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.