We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and friendly...just typical of the true South!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites University Center to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1577 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832 (Formerly Lexington Hotel University Convention Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Auburn
Durham, NC
1 review
“Clean, convenient and friendly...just typical of the true South!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The rooms are newly rennovated and well appointed & the staff is friendly and helpful. We came to Camp War Eagle for Auburn University. The hotel has a business center that my son could look up information about school; a workout facility that he was able to utilize; a pool for me to cool off in in the afternoon! The cost is reasonable and we're near enough to the school that we don't have to spend a lot of time traveling to get there...only 2 miles away!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    10
    5
    13
See reviews for
24
8
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

I actually checked out of this hotel about 1 hour after arrival and checked into another hotel in Opeilika making this the first time in my life I have paid NOT to stay somewhere. The hotel is beyond filthy, seedy, and run-down. I travel for both business and with my family for frequent weekend trips. I have never seen a hotel in such a condition with such utterly complacent staff. Auburn is a small town with few available hotels during big events and the attitude here is definitely "take it or leave it." My advice is leave it- or never arrive at all. Better to stay in a nearby town than at this hotel, particularly if you are traveling with children.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

The room was not ready when we got there even when arrived long after the check in time. We waited for almost an hour at the lobby. The toilet did not flush and we had to ask the maintenance guy who was also fixing next door. The room was dusty esp when we had the fan on. I should have brought my own beddings and towels. The shower room is filthy. One of the tiny bar soap they supply must have been recycled as it was wet and slimy when I opened it. I think it was sitting on the water and they wiped it dry. It was disgusting.

Don't be deceived by the facade of the hotel as behind it is the old motel style rooms with open/outdoor lobbys where you can hear everyone passing by your room. The elevator only goes up to 2nd floor so if your room is on the 3rd floor then you better have muscles. It has only one computer in the lobby for everyone to use. The pool looks dirty and I would not let my son near it.

It is cheap but NOT WORT IT. There are so many budget hotels around that offer a better service and comfortable room.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntville, AL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This is a former Days Inn. It was while I was at college at Auburn (2000-2004) and must have just recently changed hands as the hotel room cards still had the Days Inn logo on them.

If you book on the website, be prepared for some issues. I booked a single room and somehow ended up with a reservation for two rooms. The staff seemed totally unsurprised by this.

The room was not ready when I arrived (even though it was well after check in time). I, along with several others, had to wait more than an hour for our rooms to be ready.

Hotel advertises free wireless internet. While it is true that there is wireless and it is free, the signal strength (at least in my room) is so low as to be totally unusable. The only place in the hotel that had a sufficiently strong signal was the lobby.

The room quality is what could best be described as typical for a motel built in the 70s. Maintenance needed some work; my toilet ran nearly constantly for the weekend.

Now, having said all that, the location is great - only a few miles out of downtown. It's easy to get to, convenient, and the price - low - is right.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

Nature of our stay:
Conference stay/ romantic getaway

Plusses:
Good location, just across from Auburn campus and close to many restaurants and shops.
Good hot waffles at breakfast
Nice landscaping in the central pool area
Courteous desk staff

Minuses:
NO FRIDGE in the room, even though they advertise it
Our room had an unpleasant odor, probably from being close to the pool (chlorine smell), and maybe cigarette smoke.
Room could have been cleaner, carpet was stained and felt clammy, hotel had overall cleanliness that was only average.
Toiletries sparse, towels a little scratchy

Overall: No-frills, could be better, probably should choose mainly for location. Pool might make it fun for families. Not recommended for romantic getaways.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, no fridge
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

I stayed here because I didn't want an expensive hotel, just a simple, clean place. The people at the desk were very friendly and efficient, and the hotel was clean. The breakfast was just what we needed in the morning. The room was perfectly fine, and my only complaint was that the place sometimes got a little noisy -- we could hear people in the parking lot, a woman in the next room coughing, a dog barking in a room somewhere. It was a very convenient location to 85 and to Auburn U.

  • Liked — Decent
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler
Level Contributor
180 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

This is a very nice property. From the moment you walk through the front doors you can tell this place is a cut above the rest. The front desk staff (indeed all the staff from the manager to the maids) are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very nice with all the amenities one would expect. The grounds themselves are well appointed and lend themselves to outdoor gatherings of friends and family.
The pool area is inviting...esp. for children. They have a fitness room available and do a great breakfast. The breakfast area itself is quite large and they have several different meeting areas available.
Be Forewarned: If Auburn University is having any kind of a function (ie: a football game et al) it will be hard to get a room any where near this town.

  • Liked — The grounds are quite nice
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auburn hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 14 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
1.9 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Home-Towne Suites of Auburn
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn
Quality Inn Auburn
#6 of 14 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites University Center

Address: 1577 S College St, Auburn, AL 36832 (Formerly Lexington Hotel University Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites University Center in Auburn, AL offers easy access to Auburn University and Jordan-Hare Stadium. This Auburn, Alabama hotel is also convenient to the Jules-Smith Art Museum and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trails.Guests of the Clarion Inn University Center hotel are invited to relax in the outdoor pool, utilize the Business Center and work out in the exercise room. Boasting 9,000 square feet of conference space and one of the largest ballrooms in the area, there are 5 meeting rooms, with the hotel able to accommodate 400 people for banquets and 900 people for conferences. Additional amenities include: Free continental breakfast, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free coffee, All guest rooms offer a flat-screen television with cable, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, alarm clock, iron and ironing board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper. Its perfect location and convenient access to area attractions make the Clarion Inn & Suites University Center a great place for business and leisure travelers in the Auburn, AL area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Hotel University Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.