We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Choice for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast
371 N. College Street, Auburn, AL 36830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Auburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

George and his team were amazing for our quick one-night visit this week as we headed to the beach. We were meeting family on the coast this was the halfway point of out trip. From the moment we arrived everyone was courteous and helpful. We stayed in the Thach room and it was great for our 5 members with a loft bed that the kids all wanted to use. Breakfast was prepared at the time we agreed to the night before...delicious!! An Auburn hospitality major works there on weekends and everything was perfect. Her and my wife discussed the chocolate chip banana bread and I think she even shared some recipe tips! The personal touch in the tour and history of the home was enjoyed by every member of the family. Well done!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
38
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family of 5 spent one night in the Thach cottage while traveling to MS. It was like being at home with the uncommercial and cozy feel of a B&B. The owner of the property gave us a tour of the original home, built in 1890 and a lot of historical background which was very interesting. We were 2 blocks from downtown Auburn and walked there for dinner and a quick tour of the Auburn campus. Our home cooked breakfast the next morning was AMAZING! Fresh fruit, breakfast casserole, eggs, creamy grits and even homemade banana chocolate chip bread. The chef even wrote down her recipe for me! We would love to return and would definitely recommend this alternative to the typical commercial hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My daughter recently got married in Auburn. Our family booked the Crenshaw House. THIS WAS THE BEST DECISION we could have made. We were treated so well by George and Fran. We not only stayed at the Crenshaw House, we hosted a dessert party for all of the out of town guests in the back yard (lots of shade and huge yard) on that Friday night. We also hosted our bridesmaid luncheon on the front porch (beautiful). We had someone come in to do makeup and hair for all the bridesmaids using the Petrie suite. EVERYTHING worked so well and made the weekend even more special ! With all of us being from out of town we could all meet in the den and socialize and relax.
Kudos to GEORGE for allowing us to stay there and he cooks a GREAT BREAKFAST too!
THANKS !!! Nancy Blaylock

Room Tip: oops - no swimming pool -- It would not let me go back and change it. All the rooms are great. BE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My daughters and I had a fantastic weekend at this great B&B Great breakfast, snacks, and a Keurig in the room! We stayed in the Pat Dye cottage and enjoyed the Auburn decor plus an outside deck. George, the owner, is a wonderful host; we enjoyed swapping AU stories. Location is great, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplesville, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I loved this B&B! it was welcoming, beautiful, yet homey. The breakfast was delicious. Price was very reasonable, and other guest were friendly. Very clean and accommodating, and pet friendly too! I felt fortunate to book a cottage over the Mother's Day weekend and it was soooo much nicer than a hotel. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Auburn. Best home away from home! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

So happy we chose this place over the chain hotels. George, Fran and Shelby were gracious and friendly. The location is fantastic, walkable to the campus and BBQ and Toomer's lemonade! Starting the day with a hot breakfast and enjoyable conversation with other guests was perfect. We will definitely stay here again. We were in the Samford room and were quite comfortable, room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. simons island, ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

As always, we enjoyed our weekend stay at Crenshaw House. Began our day with a delicious, warm breakfast and then a brisk walk around campus. Beats being cooped up in a hotel room. Always a plus when we meet many new auburn families and scuba divers. Look forward to football season.

Room Tip: look at the website for room descriptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 371 N. College Street, Auburn, AL 36830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic property walking distance from the town of Auburn, and Auburn University. Ideal for group events, exclusive property packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.