We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast
371 N. College Street, Auburn, AL 36830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Auburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

George is a great host, and the accommodations were wonderful. We stayed in the Petrie Suite, and loved the room. The breakfast was great. The property was well maintained outside and inside. We did not realize when we booked the date that the next day was the first day of classes for the Auburn students. We were concerned about things being noisy, but that was not a problem at all. Nice and quiet. (We decided not to let anyone know we were Alabama fans!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
98
41
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We've stayed at the Crenshaw House Bed & Breakfast three times. George and his staff are always friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and quiet--the Petrie is our family favorite. Breakfast is a highlight! Great place to stay when in Auburn!

Room Tip: Recommend the rooms in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for the evening to celebrate our anniversary. We returned here because we stayed once before, 10+ years ago. It is even better than before. This location is just perfect, conveniently walking distance to the downtown area. In addition, the rooms are all beautiful - and they are also updating some of the already beautiful spaces. After a nice dinner, we returned to the Crenshaw house and enjoyed a drink on the front porch swing. In the morning, the breakfast of French toast, bacon, fresh fruit, potatoes, and scrambled eggs was second to none.

As others have mentioned, as nice as everything is - George, the owner, is the icing on the cake! His conversation and hospitality will have us coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to spend one night at The Crenshaw Guest House, but really wished we could have stayed longer! This location far surpassed all of my expectations. Having never stayed here before, we were not sure of the set up but they have something for everybody. You can stay in a room within the main house or you can stay in a detached building on the grounds. We chose to stay in one of these buildings, The Thach House, which was the perfect balance of privacy and safety, since we were literally 10 steps from the main house. In terms of the location of The Crenshaw Guest House, we were within a two minute drive of Toomer's Corner (downtown), and within a short walk of Jordan-Hare Stadium. The location couldn't be more perfect for AU fans!

However, the most impressive part of our stay was the comfort of the host, George. He is passionate about his home and making it enjoyable for every guest. He treated my husband and I as if we were the only guest there, when he had quite a full house! He even worked around my husband's test schedule so he could have a light breakfast before hand, and then later enjoyed the scrumptious hot breakfast afterward! We have never been treated with so much hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for a 1 night during our american road trip in March 2012. The host was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. A few days before we arrived we received a welcome email, with map, directions and contact numbers as well as some suggested attractions and activities in the area.
When we arrived the host showed us around the house and also offered us a different room if we wanted one in the house for no extra cost as it was not fully booked. We stayed with the room we had already booked which was the Thach room in the back garden. The room had its own mini kitchen, double and single bed, en suite and TV. The B&B is only a couple of minutes walk to the main street so we could leave the car and explore the town.
Breakfast was very tasty, lots of fresh fruit and pancakes and sausage.
If we were passing through Auburn again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Crenshaw House during a recent college tour with our daughter. George warmly greeted us and we stayed in the carriage house. Breakfast was terrific and served buffet style in the main house. The room was clean - but a bit rustic. We really like the feel of the room, but it may not be for everyone.

We thoroughy enjoyed our brief stay and look foward to future visits.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We found the Crenshaw House relaxing, comfortable and easy. We especially enjoyed learning about the house and the owner's ties to Auburn Univeristy. The buffet breakfast was good. Can highly recommend!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.7 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 14 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
2.8 mi away
Home-Towne Suites of Auburn
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 371 N. College Street, Auburn, AL 36830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic property walking distance from the town of Auburn, and Auburn University. Ideal for group events, exclusive property packages available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crenshaw Guest House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.