We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a Vietnamese Restaurant in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Lee

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pho Lee
756 E. Glen Ave, Auburn, AL 36830
(334) 559-0868
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 179 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Finally a Vietnamese Restaurant in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I have been here four times. I must say my favorite will be their specialty Pho soup which is also known as Vietnamese beef noodle soup. The soup comes in large or extra large soup ball. I usually get the extra large since I love putting a lot of herbs and bean sprouts in my soup. The soup is actually rather bland but if you add all those herbs, lime and hot sauce, it can be really yummy!:-). Some of their main dishes come in small portion. I feel like in order to feel full, you have to order the appetizers as well. I would definitely be back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pho in Auburn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is certainly worth checking out. I recommend ordering the house Pho, or the vermicelli bowl - they're both great! The service can be slow when they're busy, but just be patient - it's worth the wait.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Honest Bowl of Soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a pleasant lunch at this new restaurant. Because it is a pho restaurant, I had a bowl of pho which was pretty much as expected. I enjoyed that the subtle broth was fresh and clearly house made. As a professional chef who spends countless hours making my own pho broth, I appreciate it when others go to as much or more care. After lunch, chef/owner Lee came out to introduce himself and we swapped procedures for making the broth. It is clear that he is passionate about delivering an honest product.

As for the prior reviewer who claims that pho broth is always highly flavored, I say he missed the point entirely of the subtle nature of Lee's pho broth. To merit a 5-star rating, I would have liked a bit more depth of flavor, but pho broth is not supposed to be the sledgehammer to the palate that this reviewer is seeking; you are supposed to appreciate the nuanced layers of flavor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Taste like Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I grew up with Vietnamese friend and I am a huge fan of Vietnamese food. When I saw this new restaurant I was afraid that the food will be adapted for american taste like it happen for other Asian food. I was very surprised and delight that the food tasted almost like I remember having with my friend. I would recommend this restaurant for the people that want to discover this type of food. I was also surprised that the interior decoration is not at all Vietnamese but modern with a very few touch of Asian decoration.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly waiter/waitress, fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

At first I didn't want to try this place. But, then I did. The food was okay and the price are fair. What got me coming back are their waiter and waitress's excellence customer service. I think they took classes. Now, I'll definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Lee also viewed

 

Been to Pho Lee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Lee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.