We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Auburn's Best Mexican Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Mexican Restaurant

El Dorado Mexican Restaurant
1658 S. College Street, Auburn, AL 36832
(334) 887-8836
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 172 restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Definitely Auburn's Best Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Reasonably priced, good service, wide menu, well-prepared food. Usually very busy around 6-7 pm, and the noise level is quite high when crowded.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    9
    5
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Indistinguishable from any other Mexican restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

You see one Mexican restaurant menu you’ve pretty much seen them all. El Dorado doesn’t stray too far from the norm, offering familiar combos, fajita platters and the usual tacos, burritos, enchiladas and nachos on an extensive menu. There seem to be a few more shrimp items than the usual Mexican restaurant. I had the Enchiladas Verde, four steak enchiladas with a sprinkle of cheese and salsa verde plus lettuce and sour cream. The salsa was perfect, slightly sour and piquant. Everyone enjoyed their food, but the shrimp over rice got special raves. Ice cream was served in a fried tortilla bowl sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. I tried a bite of the bowl and it was stale.

Service was more than adequate with just the slightest language barrier and food arrived promptly. El Dorado was more than adequate for our hungry tribe, nothing too special but no problems either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mexican Food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a discount posted on the sign to get the second meal at 20% discount. Glad we stopped in. Chips and salsa were great. Our food was very tasty and the service was fantastic. (even for a weekend night!) We have been back several times since and have no complaints.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh Mexican fare, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am normally not a huge fan of Mexican food but the tacos that I had recently at El Dorado were very fresh and delicious. My husband and his cousin ordered larger dinners and both of them cleaned their plates. It happened to be our cousin's birthday and the restaurant comped a huge dessert, which was plenty for two or three people, and sang "Happy Birthday" to him. The food was so reasonably prices that my husband got the waiter to double check the bill to make sure we had not underpaid. I look forward to returning there with a group of my "girlfriends" for lunch next week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Felt like we were eating in Mexaco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I especially like mexican food and usually eat it when we travel. This trip was no exception and I'm glad we ate there. I ordered #24 with a side of beans and rice and I couldn't eat it all. Had to get a go box. We were traveling in our motorhome and I warmed it up later that night. It was just as good warmed up! Great food!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Dorado Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.