We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like we were eating in Mexaco.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Mexican Restaurant

El Dorado Mexican Restaurant
1658 S. College Street, Auburn, AL 36832
(334) 887-8836
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 178 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Bessemer, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Felt like we were eating in Mexaco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I especially like mexican food and usually eat it when we travel. This trip was no exception and I'm glad we ate there. I ordered #24 with a side of beans and rice and I couldn't eat it all. Had to get a go box. We were traveling in our motorhome and I warmed it up later that night. It was just as good warmed up! Great food!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent margarita and OK food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My dinner was tasty, but greasy and salty. The service was excellent as was the margarita. Prices are reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens, ga
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice restaurant with great service. Nothing special about the food, but it does do Mexican well. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Food is good, atmosphere very relaxing despite being in a college town. Try the cheese dip. Reasonably priced.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our server was nice and some of the other servers went out of their to see if we needed anything so that was nice. That being said, when I go to a Mexican restaurant I generally expect tasty and flavorful meals that might put me to sleep from being so good. This is not the case with El Dorado. Perhaps it was my mood that day (I had a headache), but the food tasted bland and it was very dry (headache independent).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Dorado Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.