We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Auburn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Auburn University to your Saves list
The Hotel at Auburn University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 South College Street, Auburn, AL 36830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Auburn
Merritt Island, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Graduation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The lobby was very very dark and needs a refresh!!
The breakfast had table and the waitress tried to sit us a coffee table.
Their was a graduation brunch that ended at 2 but took our big group reservation not telling us thr brunch would be over !

I also think that it on a campus they should have recyclable bins!

Room Tip: I am not sure there their were better room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Kymm I:

Thank you for being our guest over December graduation weekend and for offering us your feedback regarding your visit.

I do apologize that you were not told of the ending time for the Graduation Brunch when you were making your lunch reservations for Saturday. I hope that even though you did not have the brunch selections, our kitchen and staff were able to provide you and your group a memorable and delightful dining experience!

Thank you again for being our guest; should your travels bring you back to Auburn, we would love welcome you back to the hotel.

With Regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    61
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
121
25
14
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and located in the perfect location for your Auburn visit. First, check in was a breeze and welcoming. Second, the room and hotel was well taken care of, very beautiful and spacious. We had dinner in the Italian restaurant and it was delicious. Missed breakfast but it looked great. Overall, I would never stay anywhere else in Auburn after staying in this hotel. A real gem!! Great service all around.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear cindyNashvegas:

Thank you so much for being our guest, and for giving us such great feedback on your stay at The Hotel at Auburn University.

We like to think that we offer everything a visitor to Auburn could want, from location, to dining, to comfortable rooms. The thread that holds it all together is our wonderful staff of Auburn students and seasoned hotel professionals, who work tirelessly to ensure that our guests have a flawless stay. It's always rewarding to receive feedback from our guests that we are doing the right things!

Thank you again for being our guest; we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Auburn.

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was an expected gem. We are faithful to Texas A&M, but nonetheless wanted to see the Auburn campus while in that part of the US. We chose The Hotel at Auburn University because it has some pet friendly rooms. Everything exceeded our expectations. Beautiful building, scrumptious breakfast, and delightful staff. They were even nice enough to inspect our room, per our request, to make sure our entire $250 per deposit would be refunded. It was. I highly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone, even (whoop) Texas Aggies. The Auburn University students on staff are doing a terrific job. To them we say, Gig 'Em. PS: does anyone know the history of this building? The outside looks late 20th century, but the interior architecture shows the grace of another era.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear JosiahVinson:

Thank you so much for being our guest at The Hotel at Auburn University while you were traveling through the area, and for giving us such a great review here on Trip Advisor

We have a large amount of guests who stay at the hotel while visiting the Auburn Veterinary School, so we are always happy to welcome our four legged guests to Auburn! Our fantastic staff of AU students and hospitality professionals do all that we can to ensure a wonderful stay for all.

As for the hotel itself, it was constructed in 1988, opening it's doors to guests in 1989. Prior to construction, the land the hotel sits upon was the site of AU's original "Greek Row"; in fact the Phi Gamma Delta fraternity house is our neighbor to the south and the last remaining fraternity house on the east side of campus. Our lobby and public areas are decorated with original antique pieces donated for use in the hotel, and accented with a wonderful collection of photographs showcasing the rich history of the school we now know and love as Auburn University. This has leant an old world charm to the hotel, and serves as a bridge between AU's past and present, and truly provides all guests with a warm welcome home.

Thank you again for being our guest; we hope to see you again soon!

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is close to everything (Downtown, the Auburn campus and the interstate). Perfect for visiting a student, athletics, business or just pleasure. The staff greets you with a smile, the bell boys are there to help and the rooms are nice and efficient. The in house resturant is nice and the breakfast buffets are extensive; also there are other good resturants within walking distance if you choose to eat out. There is a nice "wine bar", an outside veranda to eat or relax and of course a pool and workout room. Even the housekeeping crew is very nice and helpful (I never forget to leave a room tip). This is a full service hotel and is every bit as accomidationg and pleasurable to stay as most 5 star proprties. i have stayed here at least 80 nights over the last several years (mostly football wekends but not all).

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and have a view except the rooms on the east side look at another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear skipper w:

Thank you so much for taking a moment to give your feedback on your visits to The Hotel at Auburn University, and for being such a great friend of the hotel over the years.

We truly are the "front door" to Auburn University, and our amazing staff of Auburn students and hospitality professionals work tirelessly to ensure that from beginning to end, our guests have an amazing visit. We always look forward to having our football family return each autumn weekend; it really is like welcoming family back home!

We hope to see you over the upcoming months, and for the 2014 football season!

War Eagle!

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow City, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stay here 20 nights per year. Finest service and people in the area. Restaurant is excellent. Front desk is the best, and compares with any 5-Star hotel in the country. I highly recommend your next visit to Auburn includes a stay at the AUHCC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Bill S:

Thank you so much for your great review of your stays at The Hotel at Auburn University, and for being such a loyal guest of ours over the years.

As you know, so many of our employees are AU students, gaining practical experience in their fields of study, or working their way through school. They are all very proud of the hotel and their university, and love showing our guests the true meaning of Southern Hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Auburn!

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last 2 months, typically for 2 nights each stay. Nicely located with easy walking to some great restaurants. Very consistent experience, with attentive staff and very comfortable rooms. Rooms still have individual heating/cooling units which can be fairly loud, that's my only criticism. Staff at the bar and lounge are great at conversation and making you feel comfortable. Pizza on the menu is terrific! Overall, a great place to stay if in town on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear wclodfel:

Thank you so much for being our guest when you are visiting Auburn on business, and for taking a moment to offer us such great feedback on your stays.

I'm especially pleased to hear that your experiences have been consistently positive, with attentive service and comfortable rooms. As a part of Auburn University, the hotel has an important role in providing hands on training for students in the Hospitality Management program; the staff that is working so hard to provide you with genuine Southern Hospitality and an exceptional stay will be the next generation of hospitality leaders.

Thank you again for being our guest; we can't wait to welcome you back to The Hotel at Auburn University!

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is a great spot in Auburn. Not only is it across the street from the University and just down from Toomer's Corner, the rooms are comfortable, the breakfast buffet was great, and they have a wonderful setup for gameday. I was very impressed with my experience here -- I just don't think you'll find anything better in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear corklevy:

Thank you so much for staying with us during your recent visit to Auburn, and for taking a moment to give us such a wonderful review of your experience.

As you noted, our location on the campus of Auburn University is second to none, putting our guests right in the center of all that Auburn has to offer, especially on football home weekends. As we are Auburn's training hotel, we have been home away from home for generations of Tiger fans, and cherish our strong connection to all of the Auburn Family.

I do hope that if your travels bring you back to Auburn, we will have a chance to welcome you back to The Hotel at Auburn University.

War Eagle!

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manger - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel at Auburn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Auburn University

Address: 241 South College Street, Auburn, AL 36830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Auburn University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel at Auburn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Auburn University
University Hotel Auburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Auburn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.