We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel at Auburn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel at Auburn University to your Saves list
The Hotel at Auburn University
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   241 South College Street, Auburn, AL 36830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You should never stay anywhere else when visiting Auburn Alabama. The hotel is beyond clean and the restaurant is great. But the best thing about the Hotel is their staff. Amazing group of staff members who conduct their jobs with genuine pleasure and professionalism.

Room Tip: There did seem to be thinner walls than I would have liked; we could hear several alarms going off a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear allywoolley:

Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Hotel at Auburn University, and for taking a moment to offer us such wonderful feedback regarding your experience.

As you experienced first hand, we have an amazing staff of hospitality students led by a staff of seasoned professionals, who strive to provide an experience for our guests that is second to none. We continually stress to the staff that a truly great hotel is defined by the quality and professionalism of its employees, and I'm thrilled that our team showed you that true Southern hospitality is alive and well in Auburn.

Thank you again for staying with us; we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Auburn.

Regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manger - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    78
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
151
30
18
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel while visiting the AU campus. The location is very convenient - it is a short walk to the Quad Center where you check in for the tours. Also, by staying at the hotel, you eliminate the need to park at the Fine Arts building and ride a bus to campus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear HighXpectationz:

Thank you so much for staying with us during your visit to Auburn University, and for taking a moment to give us such a nice review of your experience.

As others have noted, our location on the campus of Auburn University can't be beat; you are literally steps away from everything AU and Auburn has to offer.

I hope that your daughter had a fantastic visit to AU and chooses to become a member of the Auburn Family; we would love to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the years to come.

War Eagle!

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is very classy and serene even in a very crowded, busy section of Auburn. The staff were friendly at check-in even though we arrived early. They quickly checked us in and assured us that we had a room close to the elevator so my mother did not have to walk down a long hall. The only negative is how small the room was with two double beds. There was only room for one comfortable chair - there was another desk chair at the desk but it was far from being comfortable. The bathroom was very nice and functional with a walk-in shower.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Becky052:

Thank you so much for your January stay with us, and for taking a moment to offer us feedback on your experience.

I'm so happy to hear that the hotel was able to provide you a serene space in this very busy portion of Auburn. Our location on the campus of Auburn University makes us the favorite choice for those visiting the area, putting our guests right in the middle of everything Auburn has to offer.

I'm pleased that we were able to accommodate your request for a room close to the elevators, and that you found the bathroom to be very nice and functional. I'm sorry that you didn't have enough space with two beds in the room; we have several larger room types, including suites which do offer the ability to have two beds. Our reservations staff would be delighted to assist you with finding the perfect room should your travels bring you back to The Hotel at Auburn University.

Thank you again for spending your time in Auburn with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband, and I were visiting friends in Auburn a few weeks ago. Our friends recommended that we dine at the restaurant in the Hotel at Auburn University, Ariccia, as we are both fans of Italian cuisine. What I would like to comment on was the attentiveness and amazing care that one of the members of staff, Chef Gary, took of us. When the pizza that we had ordered arrived a little differently then we had expected (we have a very fussy little eater with us too) Chef Gary came to our table personally to see exactly what we had ordered and ensured us that he would rectify it for us. Our dining experience from then on was amazing, we shared a starter, the croccante, which was beautiful. My husband had the rib-eye steak (cooked to perfection), and the pasta carbonara was one of the nicest that we have tasted. When Chef Gary returned to our table at the end of the meal he explained to us his tricks of the trade and told us about the cooking classes that he teaches at the hotel. I will definitely be making it my business to return to the hotel and attend the classes with our friends. We may even treat ourselves to a couple of nights at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Lilly A:

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your experience in Ariccia Trattoria, at The Hotel at Auburn University.

As a favorite of our guests and local residents alike, Ariccia has a very loyal following who enjoy the restaurants classic Italian cuisine and handcrafted pizzas.

I'm glad to hear that you had a chance to meet Chef Garry Anderson, and that he was able ensure that you meal was flawless. He takes great pride in the restaurant and truly wants all of his guests to have an experience in Ariccia that is second to none.

I do hope that you have a chance to come back to visit your friends in Auburn; we would love to have you stay a few nights with us!

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was supposed to be the best hotel in Auburn Alabama and it certainly was the most expensive. To begin with, we got there at 4:30 PM and our room was not ready. We were told it could be as much as an hour before the room was ready and we were told to go to the bar and wait. I asked if they were buying our drinks and we were told it was illegal in Alabama to comp drinks. So we waited at the bar for almost an hour and bought our own VERY expensive drinks (is this a ruse to make more money for the hotel!?!?) The lobby and bar was decently appointed but a little shabby. We finally got the call our room was ready. It was supposed to be a king "deluxe" room. There was nothing really deluxe about it. It was a holtel room. The carpet was worn. The desk chair was tattered. It was relatively clean. It was ok, but if that is the best in Auburn Alabama it is sad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear princes110:

Thank you so much for staying with us during your January visit to Auburn, and for taking a moment to offer your feedback on your experience.

I would like to apologize for the delay you experienced getting into your guest room upon your arrival. We strive to have our guestrooms available upon our guests arrival, and I certainly understand the inconvenience that we caused you by not having your room ready. Additionally, I do apologize for the condition of the carpet and desk chair in your room. I do hope that we were able to move you to a different, and more suitable room once this issue was brought to our attention. Please don’t ever hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything that you might need; they are all empowered to anything needed to ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations.

I do hope that should your travels bring you back to Auburn, you might give us a second chance to provide you with the type of stay that you would expect and deserve from The Hotel at Auburn University.

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manger - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I used to have to go to Auburn for business and at first didn't know what to expect from a small university town hotel. I was very pleasantly surprised. The restaurant served delicious food. They had an appetizer that used to be on the menu called 'Sand Mountain' that had won an award. It was so good I asked the chef to make it for me each time I went back. The rooms were clean, up to date and comfortable. You can't beat the location as it is basically across the street from the center of campus. If you exercise, there is a small gym and pool at the hotel. However it is also a great place to start/finish your run around the scenic campus. Its also walking distance to anything around town (stores, restaurants, etc.). After staying there the first time, I looked forward to staying there on each trip back to town. It was a great way to experience a great university town. I would much rather to back to the Hotel at Auburn than stay at most of the other places I've had to stay while traveling for business.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear J T:

Thank you so much for your recent stay with us, and for giving us such great feedback regarding you visit.

We pride ourselves on offering visitors to Auburn an experience that exceeds what one would normally find at a university owned hotel. Because of our partnership with the Hospitality Management program at Auburn University, we have an educational mission that most properties don't have; we take great pride in our mission of training the next generation of hospitality professionals.

Thank you again for being such a loyal guest of ours; we look forward to welcoming you back to Auburn in the future.

With regards,

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We were in Auburn to tour the university. I booked based on reviews and proximity to the school. We were very pleased with the accommodations, cleanliness, and friendliness of the hotel. Although we only stayed one night, I spent time in the lobby and restaurant during the morning hours. Everyone coming into the lobby was given a warm southern welcome and directed to where they were headed within the convention area. The restaurant offered a buffet or a menu of choices. My breakfast was fabulous. There is not a better located hotel to the university. We were able to walk across the street to join our tour, which was much easier than the parking option for the tour. If we return to Auburn, I will definitely stay at The Hotel at Auburn University.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at The Hotel at Auburn University, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear KimberlyB:

Thank you so much for being our guest during your recent visit and tour of Auburn University.

Unlike most hotels, we have an expanded mission because we are owned by AU and serve as a training facility for the Hospitality Management program at the university. We have a wonderful staff of seasoned hospitality professionals who lead an energetic and enthusiastic staff of student employees who are training to become the next generation of hospitality managers. They love AU and showing our guests their pride in the University, and proving that Southern Hospitality is alive and well in Auburn.

I do hope that you enjoyed your visit to Auburn and that you choose to become a member of the Auburn Family; we would love to welcome you back to The Hotel at Auburn University over the coming years!

War Eagle!

David Merryman
Executive Assistant Manager - Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#4 of 14 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Auburn
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Home-Towne Suites of Auburn
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites University Center
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn
Quality Inn Auburn
#6 of 14 in Auburn
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel at Auburn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel at Auburn University

Address: 241 South College Street, Auburn, AL 36830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auburn
#1 Business Hotel in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel at Auburn University 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel at Auburn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Auburn University
University Hotel Auburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel at Auburn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.