We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous experience, as always!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wind Creek Casino & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wind Creek Casino & Hotel to your Saves list
Wind Creek Casino & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 Poarch Road, Atmore, AL 36502   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Atmore
Bowling Green, Ky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A fabulous experience, as always!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I love this place! The Wind Creek staff is really trained in the art of hospitality & we've never had a bad experience when staying here! We were there for 4 nights over Mother's Day & literally there was nothing to complain about, which is so rare compared to other hotels. Even the restroom staff in the casino wished us a Happy Mother's Day all day long every time we walked in!

My favorite part is the check-in process, which sounds weird, but guests get to choose from 3 different lines of spa toiletries, which you get to see, touch & smell the different scents right at the lobby registration desk. Upon choosing your favorite, you're given a good sized organza bag with your chosen shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, lotion & 2 soaps. This process always makes me feel so special:)

We always get spa services while there & I cannot say enough good things about our experiences. I work in the beauty industry, so I know a good service from a bad one, plus I know the signs of an unsanitary spa....but I feel totally comfortable with the sanitation at the Wind Creek.

We also plan to buy the type of the beds they have here because we always sleep so good, no matter what room we've been assigned! My personal favorite kind of room has the king bed, which also has the glass shower door & big walk in shower as opposed to the shower curtain & tub in the rooms that have 2 queen beds.

Our friend won a total of around $54k in big jackpots & maybe another $20k in smaller jackpot winnings over a 2 day span, so we had a BLAST watching him! We started out on the casino floor but wound up in the high rollers room where he eventually broke the 5 year standing record for the most jackpots won on the same machine. Now he & my sister get to go back for a big soiree on June 7th where he gets to meet the president of the casino!

We unfortunately cannot drive down there to join them (7 & 1/2 hour ride for us), but we will return in Oct. for several more days & I cannot wait!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with King beds have glass shower doors & a big walk in shower as opposed to rooms with 2 Q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindCreekHospitality, Manager at Wind Creek Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
WE are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed every trip with us! Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
The check-in process is a special one, and we feel that guests should travel worry free, and have a choice of bath amenities as one style/scent may not be for everyone :)
That's exciting to hear about the jackpots, and we look forward to seeing you again in Oct. (Hopefully before then!)
Thanks again, and kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    52
    22
    27
    26
See reviews for
43
115
27
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shalimar, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The folks at the Wind creek casino and hotel really make one feel at home. The staff is friendly and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are especially clean, and I love the dual shower heads in the bathroom. The casino floor is clean and inviting. We have had many occasions to eat at their buffet.....best fried chicken anywhere, and a great variety of foods. We also were lucky to attend a cooking school, and had the best time while learning from the professional chefs. Worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Wind Creek is a beautiful hotel with a fantastic staff. Everyone working there was as nice and helpful as could be. The room was very nice...big screen TV, comfy beds and nice bedding and towels. Great double headed shower in the bathroom and FANTASTIC bath products. You get a choice on check in of what you'd like from 3 different groups of shampoos, body washes and soaps...this was a great touch. Some of the furniture in our room was a bit worn, but overall it was fine. The Fire restaurant was terrific, and we ate there 2 nights because at the time of our stay, the buffet was not so good. We were told they were changing management in the buffet, so maybe that's improved. There's a great multi-plex movie theater attached to the hotel, as well as a beautiful swimming pool. The spa is also quite nice and you can get a very good spa type meal there. Huge casino with slots and there's also a smaller non - smoking area for the casino. Our only complaint was that there was no information in our room as to the various extras the hotel had, like the spa. There wasn't even a sample menu for the spa in the room. It also would have been nice if they'd included a list of the movies that were playing and the times. We were able to get this at the front desk though. And the proximity to the Gulf Shores beaches was also good...just over an hour and you can spend some time at the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindCreekHospitality, Manager at Wind Creek Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
That is some great feedback, and we thank you for taking time to post it.
We will surely review with the team to see if we can implement any additional information in the guest rooms that could work for our guests.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a really fun time! The room was very nice and comfortable. The staff was as southern friendly as it gets. The casino is all machines and mostly all the new stuff. But, the casino staff was so helpful and we caught on pretty quick. The jackpots were not huge but they were fairly often and all hours of the day. The pool was beautiful and the cinema was fresh, clean and the seating was comfortable. Sign up for the players club first thing and enjoy this beautiful casino. We will return, maybe we will try Wetumpka next time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindCreekHospitality, Manager at Wind Creek Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Southern hospitality can go a long way! :)
Thank you for taking time to post your review, and we will share your kudos with the team!
We offer a wide range of amenities for guests to enjoy, and we are happy to hear that you were able to experience some of them.
We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were encouraged to stay in the hotel at this casino, because it is a popular and easy meeting place for family who live nearby. The suite was lovely and very comfortable. We found all the services to be very professional. We didn't spend much time in casino, but did eat at the buffet. It is not very tasty by our standards, or very healthy, but would call it adequate at $15 per person. No alcohol was served in the buffet dining room...what's that all about?
Another night we were taken to the FIRE restaurant, which was excellent...night and day difference in the quality of food and of course the service, very pleasant room. This is an unusually good restaurant in an area of this type...highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindCreekHospitality, Manager at Wind Creek Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
We are happy to hear that our casino and hotel came recommended to you.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience, and we will share the review with the team.

The Fire was voted best Alabama Steakhouse, and we are very proud of that honor! We will address the buffet with the team, and hope that you will give it another try on your next trip.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pell City, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My time at the windcreek was amazing, the spa there is to die for. Kristin is the best massage therapist. Looking forward to my next visit there. They have an awesome pool. You would never expect to find this luxury in such a small town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindCreekHospitality, Manager at Wind Creek Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and for taking the time to post a review.

We will share the kudos with the team, and congratulate the spa on continuing to do stellar work!

The Spa is a true gem.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you back soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Al
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I drove down to Atmore. yesterday for a late celebration of my birthday and enjoyed a good overnight outing. We had lunch at the buffet and it was delicious as always. Our room overlooked the pool area. The beds there are wonderful. The rooms are always clean and well maintained. Asked for extra pillows and they were at our door in short order. Not a lot of luck at the slots but we did play for quite a while. The new entertainment area is great, something for everyone. I live quite near the new hotel casino in Wetumpka and have played there a number of times since they opened, but will always drive to Atmore for a overnight stay. I've seen for myself that the restrooms are not well maintained and was told by relatives who stayed there the rooms were not well kept. Maybe time will make a difference...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindCreekHospitality, Manager at Wind Creek Casino & Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Happy Birthday! Thank you for letting us share in your celebration!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience, and we will share the details with the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wind Creek Casino & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Creek Casino & Hotel

Address: 303 Poarch Road, Atmore, AL 36502
Location: United States > Alabama > Atmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Atmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wind Creek Casino & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Wind Creek Casino & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Creek Hotel Atmore
Wind Creek Casino And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind Creek Casino & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.