We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef loved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clark's Restaurant

Clark's Restaurant
1221-D Kelli Drive, Behind Raceway I-65 & Hwy 72, Athens, AL 35613
(256)771-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 87 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Clark's Restaurant is located just off I-65 and highway 72 behind Raceway. We serve fine dining & comfort food at afforable prices. The atmoshpere is bright and cheerful with quiet music that allow you to converse with your guests. We have consistantly maintained a high 90s health rating for the 5 years we have been open. All our food is cooked fresh with the finest ingredients. We have children's items available.
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chef loved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I went here last week because the employees at the hotel behind it said to check it out. I am a Detroit area chef and have been in the business for a long while. Although we only had burgers I have to say the best yet anywhere. My girlfriend in gluten free and they did a wonderful job with her. The interior made me feel like I was in my grandmothers Italian home, loved it! O will be spreading the word to everyone I know. Keep up the great work, we will be back. Chef Tom Kaczmarek the gluten free guru

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    32
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We ordered carryout and everything we had was like grandma cooked it. Delicious! Dry county. The place is too brightly lit though, but it looks and feels like you're sitting in a southern kitchen having a meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Frozen, out of the box shrimp.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile


Extremely disappointed. Ltd menu, watery iced tea, lousy frozen shrimp-you know, the kind that has been flattened out by a machine? I would have thought that with such a ltd menu, everything would be homemade.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious Food from a Locally Owned Restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My grandparents and I had lunch there yesterday and we all LOVED our dishes. The Hot Ruben sandwich was loaded with meat, cheese, special sauce and just the righ amount of sauerkraut. It was toast right and smelled so good! My grandmother and I had the Tomato Stuffed with Crab Salad and it was excellent. Well seasoned, full of crab and just the right amount of dill loaded into a large ripe tomato- yum! We haven't had a bad meal there yet, 5 years and counting. It is fresh, homemade and wonderful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heflin AL
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The food and service were both excellent. We went with friends on a Sunday morning and we were immediately seated. My friend and I had fried shrimp and it was delicious; our husbands had prime rib and they were pleased as well. The service was geat and our food was served hot. The restaurant was quiet so we could have conversation with our friends and that is always nice. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clark's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clark's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clark's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.