We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Steakhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanfield's Steakhouse

Stanfield's Steakhouse
1700 Lee St, Athens, AL 35652
256-247-3336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 87 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chesterfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Local Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love eating at Stanfields. It is a great local place and they have good, but very reasonably priced steaks. They have an extensive list of sides to choose from and their salad bar is great. Their tea is also excellent. They do have a party room for large groups.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“This Place Is In Rogersville About 20 Minutes From Athens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I tried this place after reading several glowing reviews, thanks to all who noted it is in Rogersville. This is a large,bright, family style place we found with several people waiting for seating on an early Friday evening. The menu doesn't match the "steak house" title in that there are numerous selections on the menu besides steaks including chicken, shrimp, soups sandwiches and burgers. After reading other reviews, I wanted above all to try the salad bar so I ordered just a burger with the salad. The menu is confusing as it shows the salad bar @ $7.00 when it is actually $3.00 for one trip when ordered with a sandwich or entree. Also with a sandwich or entree, you get a choice of one of several $2.00 sides. The salad bar was decent, but nothing special excepting a large selection of dressings and a very good potato salad. The cheeseburger came with my choice of cheese and was plenty large and decent. My side request was the homemade potato chips which were excellent. My guest had the soup and salad which was reportedly OK-not great. The soup was very thick potato soup she said was thick enough to be gravy. The salad had few ingredients and was based on iceburg lettuce-not mixed greens as indicated. This dinner for two with iced tea drinks was $27.09 with tax-not including the tip. Located one block North of Highway 72 in the old downtown section of Rogersville. Turn North just before Hardee's then East a block or two on the North side of Lee Street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Awesome salad bar and the prices are reasonable. The options on the menu are fantastic. If you can't find anything to eat at Stanfields. Something is bad wrong :) Enjoy !!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOOVER
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Family Steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I'm not sure what I was expecting, but this was just fine for a rainy night in Rogersville. We were staying at a local B&B and decided to try out this local steakhouse. It was a very friendly family restaurant and the food was pretty decent. The prices were great for the amount of food you got and the service was very good. It was a cute location as well, very small town home feel to it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Not in Athens, in Rogersville - but decent steakhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Dont expect frills here (or a wine list - this is in a dry county) but do expect great food, quick and friendly service and a cheap check. The endless salad bar is the best we've had, super-fresh and great selections. The Boursin filet with tobacco onions is definitely recommended. Sides at just $2 mean you won't need appetizers but they sure look good...

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanfield's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Stanfield's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanfield's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.