We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple fare, but we love what they do.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catfish Cabin

Catfish Cabin
Highway 72, Athens, AL
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 87 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Great catfish and seafood. Good selection of non-seafood items as well
Restaurant details
Description: Great catfish and seafood. Good selection of non-seafood items as well
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Simple fare, but we love what they do.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great catfish and all the fixins. we have tried the chicken livers, oysters, and shrimp. The hush puppies and coleslaw are very good. A family owned and operated restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Permanent stop when traveling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great seafood! Catfish was fresh, hot, and tasty! Fried oysters were great! Plenty of hush puppies
For everyone!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Very Popular, I'm Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place is usually packed in the evenings and weekends when I pass, now that I've tried it, I wonder why. We both had the boiled shrimp, served cold with a boring cocktail sauce and offered with slaw plus either a baked potato, fries or steamed vegatables. The shrimp were small to medium sized and quite good with a mild spice. The slaw is too sweet for my tastes and chopped very fine, the steamed veggies were just fair and probably out of a bag. You get oodles of hush puppies with the meal and they are really pretty good. The coffee was run of the mill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hushpuppies and blackend catfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hushpuppies are plentiful and tasty. Surprisingly, the blackened catfish with a baked potato is a nice alternative to the traditional catfish dinner.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.E. Kentucky
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Catfish anywhere!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

You will not be disappointed in the catfish at this place. They serve it whole, or cuts, large plates or small servings and fried is the best way to eat it. The best hushpuppies in the world with a bit of hot pepper and corn in them. Decor is older and not so fancy but the food is THE BEST. and its a clean place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catfish Cabin also viewed

 

Been to Catfish Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catfish Cabin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.