We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parker House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anniston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parker House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Parker House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
330 E 6th St, Anniston, AL 36207   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Anniston B&B and Inns
Hoover, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed one night in Parker House to get an earlier start on our Chief Ladiga Trail excursion. Our room was the downstairs Parker Room. Scott and Megan shared the history of the house and neighborhood. Rooms were picturesque! I slept like a baby. Hope my snoring did not disturb them. They live on the third floor. The kids (Coleman and Eleanor) were a joy. Scott was up in the early morning hours with Eleanor and had cooked us some eggs. Breakfast spread was tasty. Loved the conversation with Scott about how the town is transitioning away from being a military town (Fort Mcclellan closed in 1999) to one more receptive to tourism. We rode around in the neighborhood to see other houses in the area. Worth a ride around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here a second time for one night last Saturday. Scott and Megan were away but they arranged for another couple (Sherri and Shaw) to look after the B&B during my stay. They were just as good at hosting as Scott and Megan -- they were prompt picking me and my fellow cyclist up from the trail, serving an early breakfast and driving us back to the trail the next morning. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: The Noble room where we stayed for this trip is spacious and suitable for two friends who don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Scott and Megan have found the right mix between a lovely old restored house with modern conveniences for the traveler with the informality of living with them and their two delightful children -- great food, great room, great conversation, great location, great everything! We plan to come back often. Skip and Nancy and Andrew

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great, some are with king beds, some with queen, some with twins, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daien, GA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for two great nights at the Parker House Bed & Breakfast. This was most enjoyable and we plan to get back as soon as possible when visiting relatives. After dark the view from our bedroom over the city with all the lights was gorgeous! The guest rooms are very nicely furnished and take you back to the early century while wrapping you in luxury. We loved meeting the Brightwell family and the sumptious breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was treated to an anniversary surprise trip here and loved it. Wish we had more than one night to enjoy.
The rooms and the house are beautiful and the hosts are fantastic.
We had a delicious pear, apple and cheese omelet for breakfast along with zucchini bread and homemade jam.
Hope to come here again often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker H, Owner at Parker House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We very much enjoyed hosting you. Thank you for your kind words. Hopefully we won't have to wait a whole year to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night in November 2012. I only have positive things to say about the b&b. The home is an historic gem; my guest room was comfortable and well-appointed; there's free wifi; breakfast was plentiful; and Scott (the host) is friendly and accommodating.

My visit was part of a two-day, 200-mile cycling trip from Atlanta to Anniston and back again on the Silver Comet and Chief Ladiga trails. It was one of the best rides I've done in my years of road biking and the b&b provided an excellent respite between the long trips. My advice to others who cycle the trail: accept Scott's offer to pick you up from the trail when you arrive in Anniston. The ride from the trail to the b&b is very hilly and stressful with more traffic than expected on the quieter side roads.

I highly recommend this b&b to anyone who visits Anniston. I'm looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker H, Owner at Parker House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your trip. We love the Chief Ladiga trail as much as you do and cater to cyclists as much as possible. The next time you're here we can help arrange a mountain bike rental from our local bike shop. IMBA has begun another expansion of the Coldwater Mountain trail system. We're trying to make Anniston a great cycling destination!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed one night and wished we would of stayed longer. The family that has this was great and the house had tons of character. They recommended a great place for dinner that was very close to the house. Everyone at both establishments were really nice and accommodating. The breakfast was great and we met new people that were travelling through. We will go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms that are availalbe are great. We stayed in the "Parker" and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parker House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 330 E 6th St, Anniston, AL 36207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Anniston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Parker House Bed and Breakfast. A home as comfortable as it is beautiful. Nestled on I-20 halfway between Atlanta and Birmingham at the foot of Coldwater Mountain and the start of the Chief Ladiga bike trail, the Parker House in historic Anniston, AL is the perfect place to relax in one of the south’s most beautiful and inviting homes. This is THE place to stay if you’re coming in to work on or ride the Coldwater Mountain bike trail and the Sunny King Criterium. We can secure your bikes indoors, provide a wash area, and introduce you to our town when you’re not riding. “A must stay if you love architecture, history, and a beautiful space…” Listed in The Alabama Catalog as the only remaining Richardsonian Romanesque home in Alabama, the Parker House is a magnificent late victorian mansion built by one of the founders of Anniston, AL, and anchors the Tyler Hill Historic District. The Parker House wows visitors with its original wood and plaster work, huge stained glass window, and seven ornamental fireplaces. This fantastic 1889 home is the perfect getaway with quick access to: Sunny King Criterium 2012 (1 mile away!!) Coldwater Mountain bike trail system Anniston Amtrak Station (Atlanta is the next station!) The Chief Ladiga bike trail (we’ll pick you up!) Silver Lakes golf course on the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail Talladega Motor Speedway and Aaron’s 499 in 2012 (15 miles down the highway!!) Historic downtown Anniston Jacksonville State University Fort McLellan Birmingham and Atlanta ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.