We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best burger in years!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Who's Diner

Who's Diner
1560 Highway 22 West, Alexander City, AL 35010
256-212-1501
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best burger in years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed overnight in Alex City for work so I stopped in on a weekday evening for dinner. This was my first ever visit. Parking lot was full. The restaurant is small and looks like it may have once been a Waffle House or something similar. The menu is limited, had a meat and 2 special, but I ordered the cheeseburger and fries. The burger came with two small stacked patties, buttered and grilled bun and all the fixings. Let me say, that the cook knows his way around a burger. The flavor was outstanding. Tasted like burgers used to taste when I was a teenager. The service was very good and if I am ever back in the area I will look forward to eating here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“"Who" Wouldn't Come?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here quite a few times. Each and every time the service has been outstanding and the food is deliciously consistent. The portions are well worth the price, even if on a budget. The night time crew has better customer service.We will always eat here. Never walk away unsatisfied. The hamburger and country fried steaks are my personal favorites.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here twice, dinner and breakfast. Both times the food was good. There are not many restaurants to choose from. This place is a nice change from fast food and pizza.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not quite a diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very similar to a Huddle House. Gets very crowded with locals. Prices are very reasonable and service is friendly. Food is about what you would get at a Huddle House. Serves an average breakfast. Nothing speical about the food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best country fried steak EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

From the second you walk through the door you find the meaning of "southern hospitality" A warm welcome and plenty of hot coffee. A great choice of fresh cooked food and freindly staff. Make this traditional diner really special. And in my opinion the country fried steak is the best I've ever tasted.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Who's Diner also viewed

Alexander City, AL
Alexander City, AL
 

Been to Who's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Who's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.