We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kowaliga restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kowaliga restaurant
Kowaliga Marina Rd, Alexander City, AL
256-215-7035
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
montgomery alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Have tried the refurbished kowaliga restaurant twice. Was expecting a vast improvement from the old sinclairs restaurant since the staff from springhouse was now running the place.
The interior is much improved.
The menu is limited and very overpriced. 15 dollars for a poorboy sandwich, 2.50 for tea. The food is tasteless. Their signature salad, the Murphy salad has a paprika based dressing, which makes the lettuce look like it is very old, which is not appetizing. French fries were soggy and greasy.
This is very disappointing, as the location is superb and accessible by boat. I used to eat at sinclairs at least twice a week, but doubt I will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant on the lake.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was a great restaurant on the lake. Beautiful views and sunset. Staff and waitresses were very nice and accommodating. We had the Catfish tacos, shrimp tacos, onion rings with yummy COMEBACK sauce, French fries, Conenuch appetizer( yum) , and fried crab claws. Try it out!!! :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
146 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A great setting, but average and overpriced food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

A new owner is now running this beautifully located restaurant on the shores of Lake Martin. The 2 times I've been this season the service and the food have not been up to par. The only thing up are the prices.
Hopefully, they are just having new business issues and will get on track. My ribs last night were so overcooked I took them home to my dog who appreciated them more than I did. There is no handicap access from the boat docks. Several staff who used to work at the old restaurant whispered under their breath about poor management. They also no longer offer a Sunday brunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous Old Fashioned Desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Restaurant opened about a month ago so we weren't sure what to expect. Beautiful views of Lake Martin with docks so boaters can come. We had a wonderful lunch but were blown away by the desserts - and we almost skipped dessert; so glad we didn't! The ice box lemon pie with whipped cream topping was delicious and very refreshing - reminded all of us of Florida key lime pie. The banana pudding was not your typical banana pudding - it was served warm with a meringue topping and it was absolutely wonderful! The onion rings were very good. The murphy salad was nothing special. The service was very friendly but a little unpolished and unprofessional (one waitress who was training another kept wiping her nose while taking orders). We will be back and really hope this restaurant is around for a long time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kowaliga restaurant also viewed

Alexander City, AL
Alexander City, AL
 
Alexander City, AL
 

Been to Kowaliga restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kowaliga restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.