We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have been an off night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jake's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jake's
16 Broad St, Alexander City, AL 35010-2670
256-234-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
917 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Must have been an off night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was told this place was good, yet the food we got was pretty darned ordinary.

I'll give them the benefit of a doubt and suggest it was not the norm.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another Local favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Probably the best restaurant in Alex City. Food is good, service is usually good. Daily specials. A nice variety of entree, sandwiches and salads.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
564 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Fun evening, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff was very friendly and accomodating.The food delicious. Fun place! Walking distance from Mistletoe Bough B&B

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never Had A Bad Meal Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Our large party had a late dinner here this past Saturday night. Only complaint was that it took too long to get our drinks. Once that was taken care of our service was great. The food was very good, as always, and it was served hot and fresh. The dinner rolls were also very tasty. The owner also came by and asked how we were doing, which is always a big plus to me. This is a local, family owned restaurant which is another plus to me.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander City, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not ask for better service or food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

First trip to Jake's was a lunch date with a good friend. I had heard the filet was unbeatable. When I ordered it I was told they did not serve it for lunch. Looking disappointed I decided to check the menu for something else. The server asked me to hold on a second. She returned and announced she had worked it out with the chef. They bent the rules for me, big points! Great service, great food, reasonable price, you can't beat that!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's also viewed

Alexander City, AL
Alexander City, AL
 

Been to Jake's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.