We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying the outdoors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wind Creek State Park

Wind Creek State Park
4325 Alabama Highway 128, Alexander City, AL
256-329-0845
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Eclectic, Alabama
1 review
“Enjoying the outdoors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Getting away from home, splashing around in the water, cookouts watching boaters, and different water sports
Just being able to relax and let go of all the cares of world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merzouga
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wind Creek State Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

30 Auburn University foreign students spent the night in 3 tents enjoying the water, camping, music and outdoor experience of their first camp out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I have enjoyed this place for years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family and I have watched Wind Creek change and grow for over 40 years! It is a clean park and offers lots of bike trails and now has a nice Dairy Queen type place to drive up to by boat and the food is great!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“GREAT Site Beautiful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I would say GREAT but it is just a campground on the lake...with no special amenities except a country store. Clean, and always booked in advance....never stayed here but have a house nearby. Nice people visit here.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, AL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you like crowds, noise, and cramped spaces....This is the place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We spend a great deal of our weekends in campgrounds and have learned quickly that some are great, some are horrible and some are just average. Wind Creek is a huge campground with over 400 sites on Lake Martin. The campground has a lot to offer for anyone who brings their boat along with the RV. Lakefront sites have boat docks spaced along the campground so that you can leave your boat near your campsite.

The campsites here are narrow. Our site was pretty level; however so thin that the front steps were only a foot away from the end of the asphalt pad. We paid for a "lake front site" but had three tents that were placed between our RV and the Lake. These were not in any campsites, just crammed along the banks. Apparently the staff has no problem with this and on two occasions the tent campers crossed under our canopy on the way to the bathrooms.

The bathrooms are cleaned daily; however, with only three showers, two urinals, and three stalls in the men's restroom- you must get to the rest room shortly after they are cleaned. On our last night, they held a concert in next to the bathrooms in our section and the increased usage resulted in a shower that did not leave me feeling clean.

The playgrounds are old, in need of repair and not really safe for the little ones.

This is the worst of the four campgrounds we have stayed at in Alabama but not so bad that we would not try it again during the middle of the week. If you go, be prepared for large crowds, a lot of noise, a lot of tents.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wind Creek State Park also viewed

 

Been to Wind Creek State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wind Creek State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.