We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Nicest Candlewoods I have stayed at” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Alabaster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Alabaster to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Alabaster
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Balmoral Drive, Alabaster, AL 35007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alabaster
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the Nicest Candlewoods I have stayed at”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Hotel appears to be brand new and exceptionally clean especially for a Candlewood which can sometimes be a little on the dirty/sscummy side. Not here!
Rooms are huge and well equipped. Perfect for a family that wants to eat in the room with the stove, microwave, etc.
No free breakfest but affordable options available.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
6
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

The room was comfortable, the internet connection was stable and peppy, the staff were friendly. I can think of only two things that I didn't like: the breakfast situation (poking around buying stale-looking items from a cramped room was not my idea of pleasant breakfasting) and the location (isolated on top of a hill -- I like being able to walk out of a motel and into a nearby restaurant for a good meal -- I do not like having to drive somewhere to eat).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodAlabaster, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alabaster, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
NM43 - Thanks for the kind comments in your review for the Candlewood Suites Alabaster. We consistently have a top rated hotel among all Candlewood Suites properties and strive to improve upon those rankings. That being said, I apologize for the Candlewood Cupboard not being to your liking. We meet or exceed the Candlewood Brand's requirement for the Cupboard but understand that some guests prefer otherwise. Items looking stale falls directly on my shoulders if that was the case. We strive to make the allowed selections as appealing as possible. Regarding our location, I expect we'll have restaurants within walking distance in the very near future as our area is one of the fasting growing in Alabama. Thanks for staying and come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I was quite iimpressed with this property, The staff is so friendly and with nice clean rooms I feel very comfortable staying here. I travel and spent about 200 nights each year in motels. I look for candlewood properties wherever I go.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We were very impressed with Candlewood Suites. The rooms were big and nice. We were surprised that the downstairs laundry-mat was free for guests. The people who worked at the hotel were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

My family booked two rooms at Candlewood Suites. Everyone was impressed with the size of the rooms, the value, televisions, towels -- everything about the place. The Candlewood Cupboard was a big hit! There's also a great shopping area adjacent to this property. We'll definitely choose Candlewood again based on the experience we had.

  • Liked — The suite layout. More room than a typical hotel room with two queen-size beds.
  • Disliked — Sofa bed could use a better mattress
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alabaster
6.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Pelham/I-65
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Calera
Hampton Inn Calera
#1 of 4 in Calera
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#1 of 11 in Pelham
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/Pelham
8.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Birmingham-SW-Riverchase-Galleria
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oak Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Alabaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Alabaster

Address: 1004 Balmoral Drive, Alabaster, AL 35007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Alabaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alabaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Alabaster 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Alabaster, AL. Ideally situated in downtown Alabaster, Alabama, our choice extended stay hotel near Shelby Baptist Medical Center provides guests with comfortable accommodations and easy access to exciting Alabama attractions and leading area businesses. Long term guests of our Alabaster, Alabama hotel can enjoy shopping at the Riverchase Galleria Mall, sightseeing in nearby Birmingham or picnicking at Oak Mountain State Park. Headlining concerts at the Verizon Wireless Music Center and special programs at the American Village are less than nine miles from our pet friendly accommodations. Business-oriented travelers appreciate our lodgings near the Birmingham International Airport and downtown Birmingham, Alabama. In order to meet the professional needs of our guests, we provide an on-site, 24-hour business center with copy, print and fax services, as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. During your stay, we hope you will enjoy relaxing in one of our spacious suites featuring over-sized executive work desks and kitchens with full-size appliances. A well-equipped fitness center, free laundry facilities and a convenience store are also available for your convenience. As you plan your trip, we invite you to explore our excellent Alabaster, Alabama hotel rates and make your Candlewood Suites reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Alabaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Alabaster Hotel Alabaster
Alabaster Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Alabaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.