We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pestered by staff but still okay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Alabaster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Alabaster to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Alabaster
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Balmoral Drive, Alabaster, AL 35007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alabaster
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pestered by staff but still okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location, clean, and comfortable. Would have received 5 stars if not for two things. 1: We placed the "Trying to catch some Z's, quiet please" sign on the door, but that didnt stop someone from banging on the door at 930 am yelling "Housekeeping... Housekeeping... HOUSEKEEPING!" 2: Checkout time is noon, and they called our room at 11, sounding all irritated, wanting to know when we would be checking out. Not impressed by all that but room was just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
6
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here only one night it was located in the perfect area not far form great places to eat and great places to shop. If we travel by throught this area will make sure we stay here................

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My girlfriend and several of her colleagues stayed at the Candlewood Suites for seven nights in March, 2013. I joined her for a few days during the week. Overall we enjoyed the stay, but the staff gave us the runaround on what we thought was a fairly simple request.

The room and the rest of the hotel was clean and comfortable. We liked the fully furnished kitchenette and the recliner and desk chair along with a nice television and DVD player in the room. The bed and linens were comfortable, though some more sound-proofing would have been nice. Each morning we could hear footsteps from the room above us.

If you don't mind chain restaurants and stores, there are a multitude a block or two away, though with a complete lack of sidewalks anywhere in the vicinity, walking is inconvenient at best.

Some rooms have a bath tub, others just a shower stall. Swapping rooms proved to be impossible during our stay.

My girlfriend and her coworkers arrived on a Friday evening. Immediately upon check-in, she called to the front desk to ask if she could switch to a room with a bathtub. The front desk said nothing was available, but there should be one tomorrow. She called down each day on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday and every time they told her she would be able to change rooms "tomorrow." On Monday, the staff member assured her that she would hold a room for her for Tuesday.

On Tuesday she called and the man at the desk didn't know anything about holding a room. He said he would check into it and call her back. Three hours later no return phone call, so I walked to the front desk and spoke with a woman behind the counter. She checked for me and explained that no bath tub rooms were available, but that that there should be one tomorrow. The repeated empty promises from the front desk staff was maddening.

We had a good stay, but we couldn't figure out why nobody was able or willing to accommodate what we thought was an easy request for the entire week she was there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costel H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alabaster, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear JRZelazny,

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. I want to apologize on behalf of the hotel staff, especially the Front Desk attendants for not being able to accommodate your request. You are right, it is a simple request and we should have been able to make it happen. I am glad you enjoyed your stay though, and I hope you will be kind enough to give us a second chance to prove that we are better than what you experienced. Please contact me directly for your next stay, and be assured that the proper actions have been taken so that a situation like yours will not occur again.

Thank you,
Costel Hofman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a baseball tournament. Hotel was easy to find with lots of stores and places to eat nearby. The room was nice. We had A Queen suite with a kitchenette. Very spacious. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costel H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alabaster, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear MZlaud ,
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We greatly appreciate any feedback from our guests as we strive to offer great service for our great guests. Also, just like you said, we look forward seeing you again.

Thank you!

Costel Hofman ,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Maybe a little hard to get to, but worth the find for a budget friendly one night stay. Very clean. No smell. Coffee in the room but will need to supply your own breakfast. LOTS of good eating and shopping around. Would be good for any extended stay since they have full sized refrigs, stovetop and microwaves.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costel H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alabaster, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Julia G , thank you for being our guests and for taking a few minutes to give us some feedback .I do appreciate and value all our guest comments. As you wrote, our hotel "Would be good for any extended stay since they have full-sized refrigorators, stove-tops and microwaves. "
Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.
Thank you !
Costel Hofman
General Manager

Candlewood Suites Alabaster .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Candlewood Suites for two nights. I was most impressed by the cleanliness of the facility. The rooms are also rather modern with regard to flooring. There is a larger flat screen TV as well as a DVD player, which is nice for exercise videos, or would be great traveling with kids. The kitchenette is handy, although I only used the fridge. The popcorn in the microwave is a pleasant surprise.

The bed boasted a little sign that said they offered both feather and firmer foam pillows; however, when I went to trade in for firm, they in reality don't have any. I guess I'm not sure why the sign is in the room, but no big deal. The pillows actually weren't as terrible as in some hotels. The bed was fine.

The exercise room is adequate. It offers a couple treadmills, an eliptical, a bike, and a little weight training station. I am from the midwest and could barely stand the heat after half hour of exercise. There is no way of controlling the temperature...so dress light. The area is quite clean, but I was disappointed there were no cleaning supplies to wipe off the equipment - even some disinfectant wipes would have been great. There is a laundry facility right off the room, which would be nice.

The area is in a little shopping area with a Walmart, Target, Penny's and numerous other stores. Restaurants are also plentiful....we ate at Nick and Jimmy's a BBQ place, as well as Panera's. I also saw a cinema.

I would highly recommend staying here. It is right off the highway, the location is great, the staff is VERY friendly and helpful, and the place is clean. You won't go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Never stayed at CW before but glad we did. This was our stopping point on a trip to Florida. We arrived early evening...check in was very quick, smooth and the staff was very welcoming. The room itself was very nice. Although we were only a 1 night stay we appreciated the "kitchenette" (fridge, microwave, stovetop, coffemaker, etc.) Especially loved the desk area and bulletin board. The beds were of average comfort level and there is an option for feather pillows. The common areas were very clean as were the rooms. This hotel is fairly new I think so the furniture and fixtures aren't "beat down" like alot of hotels. We loved it and would definitely stay with Candlewood again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Alabaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Alabaster

Address: 1004 Balmoral Drive, Alabaster, AL 35007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Alabaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alabaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Alabaster 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Alabaster, AL. Ideally situated in downtown Alabaster, Alabama, our choice extended stay hotel near Shelby Baptist Medical Center provides guests with comfortable accommodations and easy access to exciting Alabama attractions and leading area businesses. Long term guests of our Alabaster, Alabama hotel can enjoy shopping at the Riverchase Galleria Mall, sightseeing in nearby Birmingham or picnicking at Oak Mountain State Park. Headlining concerts at the Verizon Wireless Music Center and special programs at the American Village are less than nine miles from our pet friendly accommodations. Business-oriented travelers appreciate our lodgings near the Birmingham International Airport and downtown Birmingham, Alabama. In order to meet the professional needs of our guests, we provide an on-site, 24-hour business center with copy, print and fax services, as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. During your stay, we hope you will enjoy relaxing in one of our spacious suites featuring over-sized executive work desks and kitchens with full-size appliances. A well-equipped fitness center, free laundry facilities and a convenience store are also available for your convenience. As you plan your trip, we invite you to explore our excellent Alabaster, Alabama hotel rates and make your Candlewood Suites reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Alabaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Alabaster Hotel Alabaster
Alabaster Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Alabaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.