We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and budget friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Alabaster

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Alabaster to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Alabaster
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Balmoral Drive, Alabaster, AL 35007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alabaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good and budget friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Maybe a little hard to get to, but worth the find for a budget friendly one night stay. Very clean. No smell. Coffee in the room but will need to supply your own breakfast. LOTS of good eating and shopping around. Would be good for any extended stay since they have full sized refrigs, stovetop and microwaves.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costel H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alabaster, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Julia G , thank you for being our guests and for taking a few minutes to give us some feedback .I do appreciate and value all our guest comments. As you wrote, our hotel "Would be good for any extended stay since they have full-sized refrigorators, stove-tops and microwaves. "
Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.
Thank you !
Costel Hofman
General Manager

Candlewood Suites Alabaster .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
6
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at Candlewood Suites for two nights. I was most impressed by the cleanliness of the facility. The rooms are also rather modern with regard to flooring. There is a larger flat screen TV as well as a DVD player, which is nice for exercise videos, or would be great traveling with kids. The kitchenette is handy, although I only used the fridge. The popcorn in the microwave is a pleasant surprise.

The bed boasted a little sign that said they offered both feather and firmer foam pillows; however, when I went to trade in for firm, they in reality don't have any. I guess I'm not sure why the sign is in the room, but no big deal. The pillows actually weren't as terrible as in some hotels. The bed was fine.

The exercise room is adequate. It offers a couple treadmills, an eliptical, a bike, and a little weight training station. I am from the midwest and could barely stand the heat after half hour of exercise. There is no way of controlling the temperature...so dress light. The area is quite clean, but I was disappointed there were no cleaning supplies to wipe off the equipment - even some disinfectant wipes would have been great. There is a laundry facility right off the room, which would be nice.

The area is in a little shopping area with a Walmart, Target, Penny's and numerous other stores. Restaurants are also plentiful....we ate at Nick and Jimmy's a BBQ place, as well as Panera's. I also saw a cinema.

I would highly recommend staying here. It is right off the highway, the location is great, the staff is VERY friendly and helpful, and the place is clean. You won't go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Never stayed at CW before but glad we did. This was our stopping point on a trip to Florida. We arrived early evening...check in was very quick, smooth and the staff was very welcoming. The room itself was very nice. Although we were only a 1 night stay we appreciated the "kitchenette" (fridge, microwave, stovetop, coffemaker, etc.) Especially loved the desk area and bulletin board. The beds were of average comfort level and there is an option for feather pillows. The common areas were very clean as were the rooms. This hotel is fairly new I think so the furniture and fixtures aren't "beat down" like alot of hotels. We loved it and would definitely stay with Candlewood again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the time you walk in, the staff is friendly. the rooms are very clean, from the full size refridgerator, to the sofa, to the bed. Everything was excellent. will definetly return!! I also enjoyed the free movies on DVD you can choose at the front desk, nice fitness center, and great laundry area!

Room Tip: Only bad rooms (maybe 3-4 rooms) are first floor by the desk and laundry areas. Outside of that, ALL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogers , arkansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived late, and very tired, had a very diffcult time finding the hotel. There was no signs near the road to give direction and when we finally found the correct road the turn into the hotel it self was very dark and not marked clearly. Now the hotel itself was a nice, clean and very comfortable. Good gym for those who like to work out, also the hotel is very close to a large strip mall with many stores including a Wal Mart within walking distance.
The room was large with full kitchen and two tv's and a seperate room for sleeping .
The only fault I found was the tub had been repaired and there was some spots in the bottom of it that was a different color. There is no pool and no breakfast, however staff was friendly and helpful and movie rental was free, at the desk. Now that I can find it I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay. This was our first time at a Candlewood. I would be happy to stay at one in the future. The beds are Comfortable and the rooms are quite roomy. The room even had a recliner. They have a room of all kinds of food you can buy on the honor system open 24 hours a day. There is a exercise room and laundry room. It is near all kinds of restaurants and shopping as well as a large movie theater.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have always stayed here when we visited my daughter and parents but this last stay will be our final one. On the first night we were about to go to bed and as I was about to prepare a drink I saw a couple of roaches were on the counter top and I swept them off and killed them. Since we had never had this problem before I just thought maybe it was a fluke occurrence, only to wake up to take a shower and find more in the shower. We complained to the staff 2x and their response was "ok I will let them know" whoever "them" might be. They seemed not to be at all bothered and offered nothing in compensation. I could have spent alot less a night and had bugs in my room. I would no longer recommend this hotel to anyone not wishing to carry roaches back home with them. We stayed in room 203 so if you happen to stay in this one look for bugs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Alabaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Alabaster

Address: 1004 Balmoral Drive, Alabaster, AL 35007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Alabaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alabaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Alabaster 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Alabaster, AL. Ideally situated in downtown Alabaster, Alabama, our choice extended stay hotel near Shelby Baptist Medical Center provides guests with comfortable accommodations and easy access to exciting Alabama attractions and leading area businesses. Long term guests of our Alabaster, Alabama hotel can enjoy shopping at the Riverchase Galleria Mall, sightseeing in nearby Birmingham or picnicking at Oak Mountain State Park. Headlining concerts at the Verizon Wireless Music Center and special programs at the American Village are less than nine miles from our pet friendly accommodations. Business-oriented travelers appreciate our lodgings near the Birmingham International Airport and downtown Birmingham, Alabama. In order to meet the professional needs of our guests, we provide an on-site, 24-hour business center with copy, print and fax services, as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. During your stay, we hope you will enjoy relaxing in one of our spacious suites featuring over-sized executive work desks and kitchens with full-size appliances. A well-equipped fitness center, free laundry facilities and a convenience store are also available for your convenience. As you plan your trip, we invite you to explore our excellent Alabaster, Alabama hotel rates and make your Candlewood Suites reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Alabaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Alabaster Hotel Alabaster
Alabaster Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Alabaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.