We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Alabaster

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Alabaster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Candlewood Suites Alabaster
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 Balmoral Drive, Alabaster, AL 35007   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Alabaster
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Never stayed at CW before but glad we did. This was our stopping point on a trip to Florida. We arrived early evening...check in was very quick, smooth and the staff was very welcoming. The room itself was very nice. Although we were only a 1 night stay we appreciated the "kitchenette" (fridge, microwave, stovetop, coffemaker, etc.) Especially loved the desk area and bulletin board. The beds were of average comfort level and there is an option for feather pillows. The common areas were very clean as were the rooms. This hotel is fairly new I think so the furniture and fixtures aren't "beat down" like alot of hotels. We loved it and would definitely stay with Candlewood again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
5
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the time you walk in, the staff is friendly. the rooms are very clean, from the full size refridgerator, to the sofa, to the bed. Everything was excellent. will definetly return!! I also enjoyed the free movies on DVD you can choose at the front desk, nice fitness center, and great laundry area!

Room Tip: Only bad rooms (maybe 3-4 rooms) are first floor by the desk and laundry areas. Outside of that, ALL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rogers , arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We arrived late, and very tired, had a very diffcult time finding the hotel. There was no signs near the road to give direction and when we finally found the correct road the turn into the hotel it self was very dark and not marked clearly. Now the hotel itself was a nice, clean and very comfortable. Good gym for those who like to work out, also the hotel is very close to a large strip mall with many stores including a Wal Mart within walking distance.
The room was large with full kitchen and two tv's and a seperate room for sleeping .
The only fault I found was the tub had been repaired and there was some spots in the bottom of it that was a different color. There is no pool and no breakfast, however staff was friendly and helpful and movie rental was free, at the desk. Now that I can find it I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay. This was our first time at a Candlewood. I would be happy to stay at one in the future. The beds are Comfortable and the rooms are quite roomy. The room even had a recliner. They have a room of all kinds of food you can buy on the honor system open 24 hours a day. There is a exercise room and laundry room. It is near all kinds of restaurants and shopping as well as a large movie theater.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have always stayed here when we visited my daughter and parents but this last stay will be our final one. On the first night we were about to go to bed and as I was about to prepare a drink I saw a couple of roaches were on the counter top and I swept them off and killed them. Since we had never had this problem before I just thought maybe it was a fluke occurrence, only to wake up to take a shower and find more in the shower. We complained to the staff 2x and their response was "ok I will let them know" whoever "them" might be. They seemed not to be at all bothered and offered nothing in compensation. I could have spent alot less a night and had bugs in my room. I would no longer recommend this hotel to anyone not wishing to carry roaches back home with them. We stayed in room 203 so if you happen to stay in this one look for bugs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I am still amazed at how wonderful this place truly is! I stayed while visiting with my family who lived in the area. My husband and I decided to just make a weekend out of it and visit local attractions like Oak Mountain. I was so afraid that I would end up forgetting something that we needed but turns out, it wouldn't matter if I did, EVERYTHING is already there for you. The workout room is amazing, and the DVD collection was enoromus. We enjoyed just hanging out in the room and watching movies. There was only one problem that we encountered during our stay at this hotel, and that was the fact that we had to leave and go back home!! If you are in the area and need a place to stay, do yourself a favor and stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, al
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Place is pretty new and looks nice when you first get there, but don't be fooled. Several kinds of bugs evident in several rooms (I moved rooms to try to find a clean and bug-free one). Couldn't swear to bedbugs but I was bitten and managed to kill a bug IN the bed, which seemed to match up with pictures on the internet. There were some black smudges on side of mattress as well, consistent with bedbug feces. General insect filth about in all rooms, as well as live ones of various kinds, and quite possibly bedbugs. Hair and skin and bugs left in the sheets. Yuck. I'll think twice before I try to save a few bucks on this kind of place. I left and complained to management but was never offered an apology or a refund or anything. They seemed generally a bit clueless as well as complacent. Sickening.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CandlewoodAlabaster, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Alabaster, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
I’m sorry for the poor experience had at the Candlewood Suites Alabaster. As anyone can see from the additional reviews, no one else has experienced anything similar to what is described here and this perception isn’t the norm. This Candlewood Suites is consistently ranked in the top 5-10% of all Candlewoods in the country based on numerous surveys conducted by the parent company, Holiday Inn.

The reviewer stayed in 3 rooms over the course of six nights. Twice he requested to move and he used a flashlight and magnifying glass to examine and approve the rooms prior to us happily moving him. He did tell us at the time that he had seen bugs in two of the rooms. Besides our inspection, we had our 3rd party pest control company look at all three rooms and verify that there was absolutely no evidence of bedbugs and that the pest noticed by the reviewer was a “water bug.” The reviewer left one for us in a baggy at the desk upon checking out. When seasons begin to change in the Deep South insects and bugs generally get worse inside and outside. It is a challenge faced by all homes and businesses multiple times every year. We at the hotel face the same challenge and have enlisted a pest control company that aggressively helps us out to keep anyone from noticing the increase in pests.

The reviewer left and called back nearly two weeks after to discuss the problems. I stated to him that we had our professional pest control company look at the rooms besides our in-house inspection. Because there were no problems with bed bugs and that he wasn’t at the hotel any longer, we left the conversation at that. Since then, the reviewer has created accounts and posted this review and a review in Google –both under an assumed name - to post his grievances. At the hotel, we truly believe we did what was needed to make the guest happy – including letting him inspect the additional rooms with the flashlight and magnifying glass - and unfortunately he wasn’t happy at the end of his stay. We have won awards for all of the things we do right. Sometimes, someone has a real or perceived notion that we didn’t give 100% in service or quality and we apologize for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Alabaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Alabaster

Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Alabaster Hotel
Candlewood Suites Alabaster Hotel Alabaster
Alabaster Candlewood
Alabaster Candlewood Suites
Address: 1004 Balmoral Drive, Alabaster, AL 35007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Alabaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Alabaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Alabaster 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Alabaster, AL. Ideally situated in downtown Alabaster, Alabama, our choice extended stay hotel near Shelby Baptist Medical Center provides guests with comfortable accommodations and easy access to exciting Alabama attractions and leading area businesses. Long term guests of our Alabaster, Alabama hotel can enjoy shopping at the Riverchase Galleria Mall, sightseeing in nearby Birmingham or picnicking at Oak Mountain State Park. Headlining concerts at the Verizon Wireless Music Center and special programs at the American Village are less than nine miles from our pet friendly accommodations. Business-oriented travelers appreciate our lodgings near the Birmingham International Airport and downtown Birmingham, Alabama. In order to meet the professional needs of our guests, we provide an on-site, 24-hour business center with copy, print and fax services, as well as free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the entire hotel. During your stay, we hope you will enjoy relaxing in one of our spacious suites featuring over-sized executive work desks and kitchens with full-size appliances. A well-equipped fitness center, free laundry facilities and a convenience store are also available for your convenience. As you plan your trip, we invite you to explore our excellent Alabaster, Alabama hotel rates and make your Candlewood Suites reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Alabaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Alabaster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.