We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming decor~yummy food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huggin' Molly's

Huggin' Molly's
129 Kirkland Street, Abbeville, AL
334-585-7000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Abbeville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Rome, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“charming decor~yummy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just on a whim, we turned off the interstate into Abbeville, Alabama. It's a sleepy little Southern town that has lovingly preserved its' small brick shoppes downtown. Huggin' Molly's is an old drugstore with a soda fountain/ice cream parlor in the front and a small dining room in the back. It looks like "the land that time forgot" in a good way.Full of antiques and wonderful old advertising displays.

We started out with a plate of fried green tomatoes with "come-back sauce". ( It's chipotle mayonnaise and delicious with the tomatoes.) They were prepared to perfection. Next came a French Dip sandwich and a breaded, deepfried pork loin sandwich with mountains of home-made onion rings. All were delicious. The menu is pretty extensive as they serve breakfast,lunch and dinner all the while having the soda fountain open. We decided to go the whole nine yards and splurge on dessert. We split a blondie brownie a' la mode called Molly's Blonde Sister. Luckily, our waitress said we could get a smaller portion ( Molly's Half Sister ! ).

All the staff was friendly and welcoming. We were glad we decided to stop there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming Southern Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of dining at Huggin' Molly's and it was the perfect place for a snack. We both had the smaller version of Molly's Blonde Sister which was the perfect size and delicious! If you're lucky to have Kristen wait on you then you're in for a treat. She's very proud of the place and took us on a tour of the Resturant. All of the staff was very kind and hospitable that it was like eating with family. It's not too far of the highway so it's a great place to stretch your legs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Ghost story becomes restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Seems that Molly's ghost used to appear to people and hug them. We didn't see her nor feel any hugs, but we did enjoy the atmosphere and the food. It's an old fashioned place in an old fashioned part of town and obviously popular. I had chicken salad and pecan pie, both of which were very good. Ice cream desserts were so large we had to pass them by. Sorry to have missed them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Best kept secret in Alabama! This place is so cute....a reminder of the olden days. Beautiful wood soda bar, great southern food, ice cream and service. We never miss eating here when we visit Abbeville, Alabama.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Dropped in for quick knibble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Cheryl and I had a quick snack here,I cannot remember what we ate,but is was good.Mollys is only a couple of miles from the interstate,worth a stop for a bite to eat and stretch the legs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huggin' Molly's also viewed

 

Been to Huggin' Molly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huggin' Molly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.