We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totally amazing drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chief Joseph Scenic Highway

Chief Joseph Scenic Highway
WY
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Nez Perce National Historic Trail, this scenic drive offers panoramic canyon views.
eagle river, Alaska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A totally amazing drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I grew up in Wyoming, but it's been years since I've been on this amazing highway. There are gorgeous red rock formations, mesas, and scenery a-plenty surrounded by an impressive collection of 12,000+ -foot peaks. A nice little bonus for me was experiencing Wyoming's highest bridge, the Sunlight Creek Bridge. The 285-foot bridge spans a narrow gorge, as Sunlight Creek rushes below. The sheerness of the cliffs on both sides really accentuate the height, and it's impossible to avoid a little sphincter contraction as you look down. I didn't take it all the way to Cooke City and the Bear Tooth Mountains this time, but I have in the past, and it's worth every mile. This is truly one of Wyoming's greatest gems.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OOHs and AHs Around Every Turn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

One of the most magnificent drives you will ever encounter. Red rocks, tall green spruce + pines, white mountain faces.............this ride has them ALL!! Truly magnificent. Take a lunch with you for the ride and stop at one of the many pullouts to eat and enjoy the view. This is "America The Beautiful" at its BEST!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This, Buffalo Bill Cody byway and the Beartooth are wonderful! They're all different and gorgeous. I liked them better than Yellowstone's scenery. I got lucky and saw wildlife, too.

Take your time and take your camera!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
427 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Great Views from the Top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This scenic route starts north of Cody and climbs up to over 8000ft. The views from the top of Dead Indian Pass are stupendous. You can see the switchback road leading down into the Sunlight Basin and the bridge offers good photo opportunities of the river.

Notice boards explain how the scenic byway came to be named after a Nez Perce Chief.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson,WY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chief Joseph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Loved this ride. We went by motorcycle. Can't wait to do it again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chief Joseph Scenic Highway also viewed

Montana, United States
Montana, United States
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Wyoming, United States
 

Been to Chief Joseph Scenic Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chief Joseph Scenic Highway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.