We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Bistro Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nage Restaurant

Nage Restaurant
1600 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, Washington DC, DC 20036 (Dupont Circle)
(202) 448-8005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nage Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #613 of 2,498 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Dupont Circle
Cross street: 16th street
Transit: METRO: Dupont Circle (2 Blocks), Farragut North (2 Blocks) BUS: S-2 Bus A 16th and M streets
Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Bistro Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A nice variety of bistro food in a very attractive space on Scott Circle. We were there pre-theater (it's within walking distance of the Studio Theater) and service was brisk. Salad, onion soup, salmon and chicken were all well-prepared and tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    26
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eleanor, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Is this really hotel food?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a place where people that dont stay at the hotel come to eat. They dont have a large beer selection but they have a great beer selection. The menu rotates with what the chef can get fresh. I have had great oysters, pork belly, schnitzel, burgers, the warm veggie salad is wonderful. Bree the bartender makes you feel at home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Pretty decent - not great...with a major flaw”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Grabbed an early dinner here based on location across from our hotel. I had crab cakes, my wife had salmon. Both pretty good, nothing earth shattering. Order truffle fries because I had to have them. I guess they forgot the truffle oil, All in all, it was ok. One thing that was frustrating is the charge for our wine. We ate early, and it was happy hour. I got the bill and they charge us $10 for each glass of wine, and we had 4. Happy hour was advertised as $3 for a glass of wine, and when I asked the waitress, she told me that was for people int he bar, which was approximately 5 feet from where i sat. That was pathetic, in my opinion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“WOW. I live in the neighborhood & this is a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

So, I live two blocks away from this restaurant and this was my first visit and it will not be my last. I had the hamburger and it was amazing. You could taste the smoke. Amazing. The fries were lip smacking. My lunch had the soup delish and a hamburger too. The lunch service was terrific. Equal to so many fine restaurants. And the waiter was very knowledgeable about wine selection. It's now on the top five list for "dinner in the hood."

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Casually Upscale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013


This is my go-to spot for business lunches. I order the lobster mac and cheese when I want to feel decadent, but they also have a delicious warm green bean salad, a lamb sandwich, and daily specials. They revamped the menu last year, so some of my favorites are gone (blueberry lemonade, salmon). However, last time I went, I ordered the Arctic char and found it to be tasty and well-cooked. I also always request a table near the windows. The rear of the restaurant can be rather dark.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nage Restaurant also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Nage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.