We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westend Bistro

Westend Bistro
1190 22nd St NW, The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)
(202) 974-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Westend Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #305 of 2,564 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French, American, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: M Street
Transit: Foggy Bottom/GWU & Dupont Circle
Description: Welcome to Westend Bistro, an award-winning casual American bistro located in Washington, D.C.’s trendy West End. Chef de Cuisine Devin Bozkaya presents a straightforward menu of simple signature dishes inspired by family traditions and recipes. The focus is on the ingredients, culled from fresh, quality produce by local farmers in Virginia, Pennsylvania and Maryland. Westend Bistro offers a vibrant atmosphere with an extensive wine list and signature cocktails. Guests can indulge in lunch and dinner at the bar or in the stylish booths and banquettes throughout the dining room.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“I liked it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed a pleasant dinner out with friends here. The noise level in the front of the restaurant and near the bar was pretty intense, but at our request we were seated in the back where conversation was easy. The menu mixed fancy offerings with traditional ones and we were in a more traditional mood that night. One of us enjoyed a nicely prepared steak in a dark wine sauce while two of us enjoyed a very flavorful organic chicken breast reminiscent of the better supremes de volaille I've enjoyed in French bistros. The butternut squash and apple soup was extraordinary as an appetizer. The wine list featured a wide selection by the bottle and the glass. I had a delicious French Mourvèdre blend. The sommelier stopped by our table and chatted for a while. He clearly knows his wines and delights in assembling a diverse and delicious cellar. I look forward to my next visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    49
    35
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant but Medicore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Another blah celebrity chef restaurant with nothing great, nothing bad. Not cheap for the quantity or quality of food. I ordered a New York Strip and a side of Brussel Sprouts. The steak was tough and lacking in flavor. The veggies were more interesting and flavorful. The service was attentive and polite and the atmosphere is trendy, but not unpleasantly so. I would not complain if I had to return, but it would not be my first choice. I'd rather find a great restaurant with a local unknown chef than a celebrity licensed brand any day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good meal during restaurant week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The meal during restaurant week was a great deal. Peach and arugula salad was excellent, followed by grilled trout. The trout was grilled fillets (no head which I for one was grateful). Friends also loved the red snapper and fettuccini . I had a great dessert, a "root beer float" which was a soft meringue floating in a Carmel sauce, just a few bites but delicious. There were some good wines on special, which was nice because the regular wine list is pricey. A casual happy atmosphere with attentive service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Good, just not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There is something missing.... nothing negative, just very good. Beware of an overpriced wine list.... that is inexcusable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh, innovative and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A creative contemporary American menu. The gazpacho with green apple slices was excellent, as where the salmon and lamb entrees. Definitely save room for dessert! S'mores are an incredible interpretation of the campfire treat. Most impressive was the poppy seed olive oil cake with orange cream and lavender syrup. It sounded so weird, but it blew us away; it tasted like summer.

The restaurant is located in the Ritz Carlton close to the DuPont Circle and Foggy Bottom metro stops.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westend Bistro also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Westend Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westend Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.