We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, just not Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westend Bistro

Westend Bistro
1190 22nd St NW, The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End)
(202) 974-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Westend Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #277 of 2,623 restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: M Street
Transit: Foggy Bottom/GWU & Dupont Circle
Description: Welcome to Westend Bistro, an award-winning casual American bistro located in Washington, D.C.’s trendy West End. Chef de Cuisine Devin Bozkaya presents a straightforward menu of simple signature dishes inspired by family traditions and recipes. The focus is on the ingredients, culled from fresh, quality produce by local farmers in Virginia, Pennsylvania and Maryland. Westend Bistro offers a vibrant atmosphere with an extensive wine list and signature cocktails. Guests can indulge in lunch and dinner at the bar or in the stylish booths and banquettes throughout the dining room.
Portland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good, just not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There is something missing.... nothing negative, just very good. Beware of an overpriced wine list.... that is inexcusable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    49
    35
    32
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, innovative and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A creative contemporary American menu. The gazpacho with green apple slices was excellent, as where the salmon and lamb entrees. Definitely save room for dessert! S'mores are an incredible interpretation of the campfire treat. Most impressive was the poppy seed olive oil cake with orange cream and lavender syrup. It sounded so weird, but it blew us away; it tasted like summer.

The restaurant is located in the Ritz Carlton close to the DuPont Circle and Foggy Bottom metro stops.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch at West End Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Last week, I enjoyed a sensational lunch at West End Bistro. The quiche was fluffy and laden with vegetables, with a delicious crust and a yummy side salad. The fried brussels sprouts were crispy with a tangy barbecue sauce and some crunchy nuts sprinkled into the mix. I enjoyed my cappuccino for dessert, and our waiter even tried to accommodate our request for some off-menu cookies.

The service was attentive, and the pace of the meal was ideal for the business day. This restaurant had fallen off of my radar, but no more! I will definitely be returning again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great meal with lots of options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am always skeptical of hotel restaraunts but while staying here we had some hotel credit so we tried the restaraunt was we were pleasantly surprised at the quality and service! They were accomodating to our 1 year old daughter and the menu had some great comfort food options.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Perfect ladies lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My mom and I had a great meal at Westend Bistro a few weeks ago. We didn't have to wait for a table (granted, it was a Monday) yet the restaurant was lively. The service was great and the waiter was very enthusiastic. I ordered the cobb salad which was plated so nicely. I will definitely go back again soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westend Bistro also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Westend Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westend Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.